Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: VM's - 1 as a server?

  1. #1
    anewguy is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sometimes I visit earth
    Beans
    5,440
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Wink VM's - 1 as a server?

    Is it actually "doable" to put Ubuntu server edition in a virtual machine in my Ubuntu installation? It doesn't have to be great, but my new machine is 8-core and I have 16GB of memory, so there should be plenty to set up a vm with more than enough resources. This vm wouldn't be for media serving, etc. - just to mess with the server edition and perhaps try to back up my laptop and other PC's to the new machine.

    Thanks in advance!

    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    ::1
    Beans
    2,481

    Re: VM's - 1 as a server?

    Yes, no problem.

    The only you can't do - AFAIK - is running a VM in a VM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    6,542
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: VM's - 1 as a server?

    Go for it. There are probably more servers in the world running as virtualised instances than on bare metal these days.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London.ca
    Beans
    560

    Re: VM's - 1 as a server?

    Quote Originally Posted by anewguy View Post
    Is it actually "doable" to put Ubuntu server edition in a virtual machine in my Ubuntu installation? It doesn't have to be great, but my new machine is 8-core and I have 16GB of memory, so there should be plenty to set up a vm with more than enough resources. This vm wouldn't be for media serving, etc. - just to mess with the server edition and perhaps try to back up my laptop and other PC's to the new machine.

    Thanks in advance!

    Dave
    My home server is an old Athlon X2 with 4GB ram. The server itself is running Ubuntu Server, sharing a bunch of directories via NFS and Samba. The server also has KVM+libvirt, and hosts the following single-purpose Virtual Machines:

    • Apt-cacher-ng - Caching apt packages. Somewhat useful if you have >1 machine running the same distro.
    • Askozia - an asterisk-based appliance that runs my home phone.
    • Mediatomb - A UPNP server that shares media over the network. I have it configured to do live transcoding for formats my PS3 doesn't understand. This server alone has 2048MB ram assigned to it.
    • Legacy - This is an image of my old stand-alone server, with a few things I haven't split off to single-purpose VMs yet (openvpn, etc).


    I have not had any performance issues yet, and I'm doing media transcoding on years old hardware (Not sure of the exact age, but I got the CPU and motherboard very cheap, and more than four years ago). You should have no difficulty.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    London.ca
    Beans
    560

    Re: VM's - 1 as a server?

    Quote Originally Posted by sanderj View Post
    Yes, no problem.

    The only you can't do - AFAIK - is running a VM in a VM.
    Depends on the hypervisor. KVM can be nested on AMD, though apparently there are still some issues on Intel. VMWare's ESXi 5 can host an additional ESXi 5 instance, but that nested instance can only run 32-bit VMs.

    Unsure about Virtualbox or VMWare's desktop products.

  6. #6
    anewguy is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sometimes I visit earth
    Beans
    5,440
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Wink Re: VM's - 1 as a server?

    Jeez, do I feel stupid! Virtualized servers - like I haven't heard of that a zillion times! Thanks for waking me up on that one - it won't be a problem at all.

    Thanks all!

    Dave

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •