Thread: move buttons to top right

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

move buttons to top right

HI Newbie here. When any page pen like Firefox, Thunderbird, Libre Office, etc. the minimize, maximize, and close buttons are at the top left. Can I get them to be at the top right? Thanks.

Bob

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: move buttons to top right

Good news: Yes
    Bad news: Almost yes.

The easiest way to move the buttons the right is to use Ubuntu Tweak, download it and install

Now go to Tweak -> Window Manager Settings -> Window Titlebar Button Layout -> Place

From there you can tick "Right" and the buttons will instantly move to the right.

Mess around with Ubuntu Tweak as it can do some nifty tweaks.

You might be wondering why I said "bad news" and "almost yes", well, when you maximize the window, the buttons will be on the left and as far as I know, there is no way to move them from there.
    Quote Originally Posted by Linus Torvalds
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program."

Beans

You have to edit the configuration file for your window manager. This is actually pretty easy. There's a good guide to help you out HERE. Hope that helps.

Beans
    Distro

the box popped up but no run command was there so I can't follow the rest of the instructions sorry any other ideas?

Beans
    Hidden!

Follow this , dont worry about the Dist version . it works fine .

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/13535...-ubuntu-10.04/
    Dont miss anything even it is small. one small pin is enough to bring down a man.

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by Lisiano View Post
    Good news: Yes
    Bad news: Almost yes.

The easiest way to move the buttons the right is to use Ubuntu Tweak, download it and install

Now go to Tweak -> Window Manager Settings -> Window Titlebar Button Layout -> Place