Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What does ufw do?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

What does ufw do?

I am a newbie when it comes to firewalls. I fiddled with firewalls when I was into XP, but have ignored them on Linux. I understand the basics of a firewall[maybe?].

For the past couple of years I have done nothing with the firewall, but this week, I have set up my ubuntu installs
    by $sudo ufw enable. I do nothing else.

I have either wired connections and wireless connections on all of my desktops.

In the above situation, am I doing ANYTHING by enabling ufw? If yes, what am I doing?

Just curious. In the past week or so I had been losing my wired connection frequently. I was at wits end trying to figure out the problem. In desperation, I tried ufw enable. And the problem now seems to be solved. Coincidence?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: What does ufw do?

If you want a GUI , install gufw

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by ubume2 View Post
    I am a newbie when it comes to firewalls. I fiddled with firewalls when I was into XP, but have ignored them on Linux. I understand the basics of a firewall[maybe?].

For the past couple of years I have done nothing with the firewall, but this week, I have set up my ubuntu installs
    by $sudo ufw enable. I do nothing else.

I have either wired connections and wireless connections on all of my desktops.

In the above situation, am I doing ANYTHING by enabling ufw? If yes, what am I doing?

Just curious. In the past week or so I had been losing my wired connection frequently. I was at wits end trying to figure out the problem. In desperation, I tried ufw enable. And the problem now seems to be solved. Coincidence?
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1871177

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1876124

Both threads will answer your questions and how to use it or somethng else effectively.

Cheers
    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006