Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Webcam not working in Ubuntu 11.10

Beans

Webcam not working in Ubuntu 11.10

Hi,
    I am new to Ubuntu, but like it a lot except for the fact that the built-in webcam on my Compaq CQ10-700SE is not working. I have followed all the fixes for laptops with webcam problems that I've found on the forums, but nothing has worked. Programs like "Cheese" do see the camera as /dev/video0, but the camera light never goes on and I get no image from it. Everything in Skype works, but I transmit no picture. Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!

Beans

Re: Webcam not working in Ubuntu 11.10

I found something interesting... I tried sudo apt-get install v4l2ucp then ran sudo v4l2ucp and the camera started working in Cheese. So, I quit programs and tried it again, but it wont work anymore. When I open v4l2ucp it says unable to open /dev/video0 but I kow that's where it is. Strange thing though... Cheese is sometimes saying /dev/video1 and sometimes /dev/video0 either way though it's not working. Please help me somebody!

Beans

So, my camera worked for all of two seconds... now when I run
    ls /dev/video*

in the terminal it says /dev/video1 in yellow text and everytime I try to run Video4Linux Control Panels it says /dev/video0 doesn't exist. This program only worked the one time for two seconds. Did it change my configuration?

Beans

if you want you can check my video in youtube Fix Skype webCam Problem, Ubuntu 11.10, Greek-Eng

Beans

Koftis, thanks for responding! It didn't work though! I did everything just like the video but when I test video devices in Skype it says "No devices Found on /dev/video0".

I think that your solution might have worked for me before I tried to use "Video4 Linux Control Panel" because before I did that the camera was showing up as /dev/video0 but now that I tried that program (which actually worked for two seconds!) the camera shows up as /dev/video1.