Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: OCR program?

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

OCR program?

Hi, all

I'm almsot there! There, as in ready to ditch Windows altogether.
    I have a very specific problem- as a teacher, I sometimes need to scan in documents for editing.
    So far, I haven't been able to get an OCR program to work in Linux, or at least, not accurately enough.
    Could anyone please recommend one? I am quite happy to use the command line, but can't find a detailed "how to" for an OCR program.
    Regards, and thanks in advance

Nifty

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: OCR program?

Abbeyyocr seems to do a good job if this blog is to believed, but it is a commercial product.
    10 Euros/9 GB pounds. There is a free 15 day trial here.
    Toshiba AMD64 2Ghz, 4Gb RAM: dual Natty/win7. Dell Mini10v: 10.04. SamsungN140:win7/11.04. NB200:10.10.
    ++ desktops P4 3Ghz ++ servers
    Full Circle Magazine | Ubuntu Pocket Guide | HantsLUG

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I don't mind paying, provided the product works. I'm still wondering about a "how to", though. Do you start with Simple Scan?
    Regards
    Nifty

PS. What have they done to the thanks button?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Toshiba AMD64 2Ghz, 4Gb RAM: dual Natty/win7. Dell Mini10v: 10.04. SamsungN140:win7/11.04. NB200:10.10.
    ++ desktops P4 3Ghz ++ servers
    Full Circle Magazine | Ubuntu Pocket Guide | HantsLUG

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu

Hi, Matt

Thanks for that. I shall give this a try now.

Your halp is much appreciated.

Regards

Nifty

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

I use tesseract v3 in Lucid 10.04, which can be added from a number of ppa repositories and is a big jump forward in accuracy terms, in my opinion.