Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,505
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by eprimaveri View Post
    ........
    I had to disable "apic support" in the BIOS just to get the installer and server to load.
    That is what allows multi-CPUs to work!

    No APIC = one CPU.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by dcstar View Post
    That is what allows multi-CPUs to work!

    No APIC = one CPU.
    Beaten to it This is an ACPI issue.

    acpi=off and noapic are blunt instruments. You can get finer control than that.

    What exactly was causing your PC not to boot ? Was this just a "add a kernel command line option and hope" ?

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,505
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    hi



    beaten to it :d this is an acpi issue.

    Acpi=off and noapic are blunt instruments. You can get finer control than that.
    apic <> apci.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,680
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by dcstar View Post
    apic <> apci.
    I know

    I think the posters need to find out why they think they needed these switches in the command line to make the system boot.

    <kernel cmd line snip> ... acpi=off noapic nolapic ...
    That has turned off a lot of functionality in the kernel. I would be surprised if all those switches were required to make the system boot.

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The U. S. of A.
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs down Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    So if I change my Boot args from
    Code:
    ro acpi=off noapic nolapic nodmraid quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    to
    Code:
    ro nodmraid quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    I should be fine?
    || Kubuntu x86_64 (12.10 Dev.) || KDE 4.9.00 ||
    || Dell Inspiron 570 || 8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM || AMD Phenom II X4 820 @ 2.8Ghz ||
    || Razer Lachesis Gaming Mouse || Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard ||
    Conky: ... no such configuration: 'normal'

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The U. S. of A.
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs down Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Yep, That did it.

    ...Happy now. Thanks!
    || Kubuntu x86_64 (12.10 Dev.) || KDE 4.9.00 ||
    || Dell Inspiron 570 || 8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM || AMD Phenom II X4 820 @ 2.8Ghz ||
    || Razer Lachesis Gaming Mouse || Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard ||
    Conky: ... no such configuration: 'normal'

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Beans
    13,505
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    I think the posters need to find out why they think they needed these switches in the command line to make the system boot.
    Probably because they "saw it on a web site" and follow totally inappropriate instructions because they have little or no clue as to actually what they are doing.
    Regards, David.
    Please use the Forum search and Wiki search for immediate help
    Please mark your thread as Solved when appropriate
    New to technical forums?: How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The U. S. of A.
    Beans
    163
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Thumbs down Re: /proc/cpuinfo not showing all 16 cores in 11.10

    Quote Originally Posted by dcstar View Post
    Probably because they "saw it on a web site" and follow totally inappropriate instructions because they have little or no clue as to actually what they are doing.
    Well, I can't speak to everyone who may have had this issue. but I've always had to use the "Alternate" install disc on this system before. When I did my reinstall recently I went to get the iso from http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/kubuntu/oneiric/ and noticed there was no Alternate ISO.

    I was able to use the normal ISO and install completely by altering some of the livedisc's boot parameters... but I didn't realize that those parameters would be set on the finalized install as well.

    I may have just enough of a clue to cause myself problems, but I can usually noodle it out with a little research and help from a patient community. I haven't considered myself Clueless on linux for a few years now, but there are parts of the system I haven't messed with much.

    I guess what I'm trying to say is thanks for the humility check, but don't be so hard on Noobs... they will be the Sages that others will turn to some day.
    || Kubuntu x86_64 (12.10 Dev.) || KDE 4.9.00 ||
    || Dell Inspiron 570 || 8GB PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM || AMD Phenom II X4 820 @ 2.8Ghz ||
    || Razer Lachesis Gaming Mouse || Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard ||
    Conky: ... no such configuration: 'normal'

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •