Thread: Several problems (Samba, WOL, shutdown, automount)

Beans

Several problems (Samba, WOL, shutdown, automount)

Hi guys,

Let me first say that I'm relatively new to Ubuntu, I can make my way around with the Terminal and I now how most things work.
    However when it comes to more complex things and dependencies I'm lost.

I'll provide you with the following information before I start explaining what I've done so far.

Network
    Router: ZTE H220N.
    DMZ: Server staat als DMZ host.
    Portforwarding: UDP port 9 is forwarded to the static IP address of the server.

Server
    Motherboard: Asrock 890GM pro3
    Motherboard ACPI config: PCI Devices Power On "Enabled".
    OS ACPI Config: PCI Bridge linked to ethernet controller wake-up "Enabled".
    Name: Ubuntu-Media-Server
    ShareName: Shared

Ok so I'll start with the first and main problem.

Backstory
    My server has been working fine for a few months now and there were no problems. Then I decided I wanted to be able to wake up my server using WOL. So I started searching for the possibilities of my current setup.

According to the on-line documentation my on-board Ethernet-card should be able to be woken up by a Magic Packet.

So I started looking for how this should be done. I started doing some stuff with the network settings. All was well.
    I couldn't get WOL working so I decided to do something else I wanted to do for somewhile (there might be a problem with my router's firewall and that might be why I cant get it working, however I cannot access any part of the firewall since my ISP, who provided the router, has blocked all access to the firewall and set it on a default level of security, "high"). Which is have my main account log-in when I start up the server. I got this working pretty fast.

Since I've got a server and I had samba running I though well, let's see If I can get my main Multiple-Disk array to automount.
    This is when the trouble began.

Shutdown