Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    27

    Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    Hello all,

    I'm running Ubuntu 11.10 (originally with Unity, but I installed LXDE on top), and used to be able to run Conky without trouble in whichever DE I wanted to.

    As I was unable to use dual Monitors with LXDE, the past month had me using GNOME a lot more often, until I found an hour ago a way of setting it up in LXDE. To my surprise, Conky stubbornly refuses to run in LXDE, single or dual monitors alike. I have no idea why.

    These are the messages that it prints as I invoke it from terminal:

    Code:
    :~$ conky
    Conky: desktop window (1e0012f) is subwindow of root window (c7)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (0x5000001)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer
    
    FATAL_ERROR: The server is not running!
    
    
    FATAL_ERROR: The server is not running!
    
    
    FATAL_ERROR: The server is not running!
    (Note: from here and on it just keeps looping this line)
    Anyone got a clue of what I could do?

    I've searched just about the whole internet for some reproduction of this issue, and haven't seen anything close. If someone knows a thread explaining this issue, please let me know.

    I will, too, post my .conkyrc upon request, though I don't think it has to do with the issue.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Beans
    184
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    I have noticed in the past sometimes a conkyrc works fine in one DE and not so fine in another. Post your .conkyrc and I will see if I get the same problem.
    "The Linux philosophy is laugh in the face of danger. Oops. Wrong one. Do it yourself. That's it." --Linus Torvalds

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Version Dependency View Post
    I have noticed in the past sometimes a conkyrc works fine in one DE and not so fine in another. Post your .conkyrc and I will see if I get the same problem.
    Some news to me. Didn't (use to) happen to me before, as both LXDE and GNOME were fine and dandy with conky (a month ago). Anyway:

    Code:
    alignment top_right
    background no
    double_buffer yes
    border_width 1
    cpu_avg_samples 2
    default_color white
    default_outline_color white
    default_shade_color white
    draw_borders no
    draw_graph_borders yes
    draw_outline no
    draw_shades no
    use_xft yes
    xftfont Ubuntu:size=12
    gap_x 0
    gap_y 26
    minimum_size 300
    maximum_width 300
    net_avg_samples 2
    no_buffers yes
    out_to_console no
    out_to_stderr no
    extra_newline no
    own_window yes
    own_window_type override
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
    stippled_borders 0
    update_interval 1.0
    uppercase no
    use_spacer none
    show_graph_scale no
    show_graph_range no
    
    TEXT
    
    ${font Arial:bold:size=18}${alignc}All Systems are a Go!${font}
    ${hr 3}
    ${font Arial:size=30}${alignc}${time %H:%M:%S}${font}
    ${font Ubuntu:size=10}${alignc}You on time, bro?
    ${hr 3}
    ${font Arial:size=15}${alignc}STATUS:${font}
    CPU1: ${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar cpu1 10}
    CPU2: ${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar cpu2 10}
    RAM: ${mem}/${memmax} ${membar 10}
    SWAP: $swap
    LINUX: ${fs_used}/${fs_size} ${fs_bar 10 /}
    TEMP: ${acpitemp}°C
    ${hr 3}
    ${font Arial:size=15}${alignc}CONNECTIVITY:${font}
    ${alignc}Wi-Fi: 
    UP:${upspeed wlan0}  DOWN:${downspeed wlan0}
    Strength: ${wireless_link_bar 10 wlan0}
    ${alignc}LAN:
    UP:${upspeed eth0}  DOWN:${downspeed eth0}
    ${hr 3}
    ${font Arial:size=15}${alignc}I'VE GOT THAT TUNE:${font}
    ${alignc}---
    ${if_running audacious2}${alignc}AUDACIOUS:
    ${alignc}${exec audtool2 current-song-tuple-data artist}
    ${alignc}${exec audtool2 --current-song}
    ${alignc}${exec audtool2 --current-song-output-length} - ${exec audtool2 --current-song-length}
    ${endif}
    ${if_running mocp}${alignc}MOC:
    ${alignc}${moc_artist}
    ${alignc}${moc_song}
    ${alignc}${moc_curtime} - ${moc_totaltime}
    $endif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Down Under
    Beans
    1,568
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    I use these Window settings In Lubuntu using LXDE


    Code:
    # Window Settings
    own_window yes
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_type normal
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

    Rodney

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    Hey, Rodney, that actually worked!
    Conky is still spewing that "Fatal Error" message, but the window is full rendered and live again. Thank you!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Beans
    4
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Conky Starts in GNOME, but not in LXDE

    got success with conky transparency in LXDE on debian squeezy, with pcmanfm running.
    In the conky config file (i.e. .conkyrc) I removed all 'own_window' lines, except the following:
    Code:
    own_window yes 
    own_window_class conky 
    own_window_transparent yes 
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,sticky,skip_pager
    Adding again some often used lines like
    Code:
    own_window_argb_visual yes
    caused transparency to fail, or conky wouldn't start at all. Very strange...

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •