Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    18

    Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    Um I just installed Xubuntu 11.10 64, in the hope of lower memory usage than Unity.

    It's using 1.2g!

    Ubuntu 11.04 is using 350megs!

    Whats going on here! lol. I thought id finally found the right OS, I'd rather run a marathon than install another OS onto this dam server. lol

    (btw, really struggling with unity's interface. Can't even find the About Ubuntu, know what I mean?)

    Cheers
    Mic

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    Hello and welcome to the forums.

    First of all, nothing wrong with marathons

    Secondly, type in the following command into a terminal window and post back the results:
    Code:
    free -m
    The "used" value in the "-/+ buffers/cache:" row is the most accurate reflection of memory usage.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    9,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    +1

    More here:
    http://www.linuxatemyram.com/

    Sorry for the ugly web design. The contents is fine, though.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    I appreciate the computer science behind caching.

    But..


    I boot up 11.04 32bit, and mem use is 328 megs. Apparently 149 is cache.
    On a 2gig machine.

    I boot ub xubuntu, 11.10, 64bit, and its using 749, 336 cache
    On a 1 gig machine.

    Fresh boot, cache or no cache, at the end of the day, it's still using more memory.

    Is it the 64bit-ed-ness?

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    I've found the problem: 64bit

    32bit Xubuntu uses 180 after fresh auto logon.
    47 with lightdm stopped

    64bit xubunut is using 350 fresh just after auto logon.
    And 222 with light dm stopped.

    If you do the math, the desktop interface is using 130megs.

    So something in the underlying OS, on the 64bit version, is using a significant amount of memory as compared to the 32 bit version.

    I wouldnt mind eliminating it, but then again, does any one really care about the 64 bit version ??

    *All memory figures extracted using afore mentioned field from `free -m`
    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    Ok, so also XOrg is really high cpu usage compared to 32bit versions

    And vino is awful slow.

    I think ill just blow the 64bit version away and put on 32 bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavk, sland
    Beans
    9,291
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    Good, then please mark the thread 'solved'.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    3,187

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    On 64-bit machines the opcode part of a program is double in size. The data is the same, so the final result for a 64-bit program isn't necessarily 2 times larger, but it is always larger.

    However, there is no reason for the CPU usage to be different like you describe. The Xorg thing might be a bug.

    Either way, on a 2GB RAM machine 32-bit should work fine.

    And yes, what mrgs said, mark the thread as "solved".

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    18

    Re: Xubuntu memory using 1gig

    I beleive the xorg thing and vino is due to my "server-grade" (read: crap) MGA graphic card.

    Research on the net shows that 64bit is actually faster, especially since it enables providers to break i386 compatibility and enable all modern CPU features.

    Plus, I have 12gig

    Thanks all

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •