Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BBC iPlayer installation problems

Beans

BBC iPlayer installation problems

Hi, I'm completely new to Ubuntu - running the 11.10 version. I am trying to install the BBC i player desktop version. I have done the get iplayer and the get iplayer 2.80 is showing in my downloads but I don't know what to do with these files now! The download is full of files but how to I actually get BBC i player on my desktop? Please help, thanks

Beans

Re: BBC iPlayer installation problems

I tried to download it, but the page keeps loading and loading without ever doing anything.
    Could you post a direct link to the download file?

Beans

Thumbs down Re: BBC iPlayer installation problems

I thought the Beeb had pulled the linux client a little while ago... again...

EDIT:

Re read the original post...

get_iplayer is a command line tool - there is no gui and is not the same thing as the "official" bbc desktop client.

Easiest way to installl is through the ppa

ppa:jon-hedgerows/get-iplayer
    Last edited by satanselbow; February 5th, 2012 at 07:15 PM.
    Code:
    cd /fridge/beer | drink && fallover

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I'm not sure what your problem is. On my system (10.04) I simply go here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/install

click "Install BBC IPlayer Desktop" and then when it gives me the option to open or run the file I click open. The rest is automated.

I share SatansElbow's suprise, the file is actually an adobe air file, which I thought no longer ran on Linux, I'm guessing iplayer must still be using an older version......

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by carranty View Post
    I'm not sure what your problem is. On my system (10.04) I simply go here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/install

click "Install BBC IPlayer Desktop" and then when it gives me the option to open or run the file I click open. The rest is automated.
    I do the same thing with opera and chromium and nothing happens; strange...