Thread: Burning MP3 CDs (for the car)

Hybrid View

Beans

Cool Burning MP3 CDs (for the car)

Hi,

So I am quite new to Ubuntu (and these forums) so apologies if this is in the wrong sub-forum or anything.

I am trying, as the title says, to burn MP3 CDs for use in my car. NOT burn MP3s to regular audio CD - there are a ton of apps for that and I found them, thanks

I am aware Brasero has a "data CD" function, but have tried this and it didnt work in my car (but to be fair I'm not sure about the burn quality as it was on a laptop, might try slower burn later).

What I am worried about is the fact that iTunes [ ] has three options when burning to disc:
    1) Audio CD
    2) MP3 CD
    3) Data CD
    and I am worried brasero is doing the equivalent of option 3 here, which perhaps is not quite the same as option 2 (although again, I must admit I dont know this for sure: perhaps options 2 and 3 are the same except 2 has no folder structure??)

Was just wondering if someone knew for sure how to do this as google turns up only results of how to burn .mp3s to audio CD (ie convert to .wav first), whether I need another program etc...

Anyway sorry for the essay, just wanted to avoid any confusion!!

Linux love
    x

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Burning MP3 CDs (for the car)

Burn it as a Data CD. As far as I'm aware, there's no difference between "Data CD" and "MP3 CD"

I'd have thought the problem was with the burn itself.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

You mention iTunes, and that worries me a bit as I wonder whether the DRM problem is causing your difficulties.

I hasten to add that I have never used, nor even seen iTunes in action, so I may be speaking out of turn here, however, it is worth checking out.

Beans

OK Steeperton I will give it another go then.