Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Copying files and permission problems

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Copying files and permission problems

Hello,

Posting in Absolute Beginner Talk as I am really struggling with what should be a simple thing ...

I've just downloaded a PDF file (my wife's tax return), and am trying to save it. It won't let me save it directly into a mounted volume locally, but will let me save it to the desktop.

I can open it fine from the desktop, and also copy it to the mounted volume locally. However I can't then open the copied copy ...

I have tried running as root (typing 'sudo nautilus' from the terminal and finding the file from there), but that doesn't let me open it either - telling me "Cannot parse arguments: Cannot open display:". The permissions on the file are as follows;

Code:
    -rwxrwxrwx 1 ogp ogp 778004 2012-01-28 17:14 viewTaxReturnPdf
    (I changed them from the command line, and by my reckoning that should allow pretty much anyone to open it, but no joy, even when trying to open as root.)

I have tried copying the file directly from the 'Downloads' folder (of firefox) and that made no difference.

What am I doing wrong? (I know i have had problems with this sort of thing before - with the tax return from last year, for instance - but can't remember what I did to solve them.)

Thanks, in advance, for any help.

Oli.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Copying files and permission problems

What kind of filesystem (and drive/media) is the mounted volume you are talking about?

Beans
    Distro

mcduck,

Thanks. It's a locally mounted partition, formatted as EXT4.

It's mounted under /media, and the folder I am trying to copy it into is /media/Ianthe/Financial/Tax10-11 - Ianthe is the name of the partition. It is mounted with fstab when the machine boots up.

Oli.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish