Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    12

    Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    Hello all,

    I successfully installed the rt3572STA driver for my Linksys AE1000 (after editing the files, etc, etc.). I can view networks without a problem, but when I try connect to my home network, it continuously asks for my password.

    Last night, I was able to connect to my router for the first time after a week of hassle. After about an hour of a great connection, it decided to disconnect and go back to asking me for my password continuously. It seems that after I'm prompted for my password several (around 5) times, it gives up trying. Then my network menu freezes until I unplug the adapter...

    It may help noting that I have a Linksys PCI card installed which I don't use because of its poor connectivity. I'm not worried about getting that to work. My AE1000 works fine in Windows 7 64-bit. I'm running Ubuntu 11.10 64-bit. I'm fairly new with Linux, but I'm able to follow things pretty well.

    This is my dmesg:

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ dmesg | grep rt2
    [  180.378020] rtusb init rt2870 --->
    [  180.380595] usbcore: registered new interface driver rt2870
    [  181.134437] <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
    [  182.117591] <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
    [  183.191855] <==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
    [  561.440527] !!! rt28xx Initialized fail !!!
    and my iwconfig:


    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=0 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Power Management:on
              
    ra0       Ralink STA  ESSID:"Adam"  Nickname:"RT3572STA"
              Mode:Auto  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Bit Rate:1 Mb/s   
              RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Link Quality=10/100  Signal level:0 dBm  Noise level:0 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    Code:
    lsmod | grep rt2
    returns nothing

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

    Edit: Sorry, but I won't be able to check back until tomorrow afternoon due to work, but don't hesitate to leave me a reply.
    Last edited by LoserDude27; January 27th, 2012 at 08:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    19,943
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    Why do you have a wlan0 and an ra0? Do you have another wireless device? Also, let's have a look at:
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt3
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    12

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    Thanks for the reply, Doc!

    Yeah, I have a PCI wireless card which I don't want to use at all. If you think that might be conflicting, I can take it out.

    EDIT: I took out the other wireless card and I'm having the same issue still.

    Before reboot and removal of other card:

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt3
    [ 4680.760222]  [<ffffffffa0f927ac>] RtmpOSTaskKill+0x1c/0x20 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760249]  [<ffffffffa0fa7d95>] RtmpMgmtTaskExit+0x35/0x110 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760276]  [<ffffffffa0f4df4f>] RTMPDrvClose+0xbf/0x1a0 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760304]  [<ffffffffa0f92c7f>] rt28xx_close+0x2f/0x70 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760334]  [<ffffffffa0f5a80f>] RTMP_COM_IoctlHandle+0x35f/0x620 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760360]  [<ffffffffa0f4e1a1>] ? RTMPInfClose+0x91/0x250 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760389]  [<ffffffffa0f92d26>] MainVirtualIF_close+0x66/0xa0 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760417]  [<ffffffffa0f93160>] ? RtmpOSIRQRequest+0x50/0x50 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760445]  [<ffffffffa0f92c50>] ? RtmpNetEthConvertDevSearch+0x80/0x80 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4684.213566] RtmpOSNetDevDetach(): RtmpOSNetDeviceDetach(), dev->name=ra0!
    After reboot and removal of card:

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    ra0       Ralink STA  ESSID:"Adam"  Nickname:"RT3572STA"
              Mode:Auto  Frequency=2.412 GHz  Access Point: 00:18:F8:C8:A1:CE   
              Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   
              RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Link Quality=10/100  Signal level:0 dBm  Noise level:0 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ dmesg | grep -e ra0 -e rt3
    [   27.520027] ra0: no IPv6 routers present
    Also, after many tries of connecting, the network menu stops responding and iwconfig hangs. When I unplug the AE1000, the network menu works again and iwconfig finishes with:

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    ra0       Ralink STA
    Last edited by LoserDude27; January 28th, 2012 at 08:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    19,943
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    [ 4680.760222] [<ffffffffa0f927ac>] RtmpOSTaskKill+0x1c/0x20 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760249] [<ffffffffa0fa7d95>] RtmpMgmtTaskExit+0x35/0x110 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760276] [<ffffffffa0f4df4f>] RTMPDrvClose+0xbf/0x1a0 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760304] [<ffffffffa0f92c7f>] rt28xx_close+0x2f/0x70 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760334] [<ffffffffa0f5a80f>] RTMP_COM_IoctlHandle+0x35f/0x620 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760360] [<ffffffffa0f4e1a1>] ? RTMPInfClose+0x91/0x250 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760389] [<ffffffffa0f92d26>] MainVirtualIF_close+0x66/0xa0 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760417] [<ffffffffa0f93160>] ? RtmpOSIRQRequest+0x50/0x50 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4680.760445] [<ffffffffa0f92c50>] ? RtmpNetEthConvertDevSearch+0x80/0x80 [rt3572sta]
    [ 4684.213566] RtmpOSNetDevDetach(): RtmpOSNetDeviceDetach(), dev->name=ra0!
    Wow! That's an unhappy driver/card/OS combination. This may be a 64-bit issue. What version of the driver did you compile?
    Code:
    modinfo rt3572sta | grep version
    Maybe there is another driver we can use. Please post:
    Code:
    lsusb
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    12

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    I'm using the newest version of rt3572sta from the ralinktech site.

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ modinfo rt3572sta | grep version
    version:        2.5.0.0
    srcversion:     76F1B8BB549BF51556EFB4F
    vermagic:       3.0.0-15-generic SMP mod_unload modversions 
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 13b1:002f Linksys AE1000 v1 802.11n [Ralink RT2870]
    Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:0a15 Logitech, Inc. 
    Bus 006 Device 002: ID 03f0:2b11 Hewlett-Packard PSC 2170 series
    Bus 006 Device 003: ID 046d:c223 Logitech, Inc. G11/G15 Keyboard / USB Hub
    Bus 006 Device 004: ID 046d:c221 Logitech, Inc. G11/G15 Keyboard / Keyboard
    Bus 006 Device 005: ID 046d:c51a Logitech, Inc. MX Revolution/G7 Cordless Mouse
    Bus 006 Device 006: ID 046d:c222 Logitech, Inc. G15 Keyboard / LCD
    I'm not sure if it helps to note that I have two USB extensions attached in order to get the adapter close enough to the router for a good signal. The router is on the opposite side of the house and up one floor, so I don't a signal without the extensions. This hasn't been a problem with Windows, and I do get the maximum speed possible when it works.

    Also, I just thought of this: how can I find out which of my USB ports are 2.0 and which aren't? This might have something to do with my poor signal....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    19,943
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    I'm not sure if it helps to note that I have two USB extensions attached in order to get the adapter close enough to the router for a good signal. The router is on the opposite side of the house and up one floor, so I don't a signal without the extensions. This hasn't been a problem with Windows, and I do get the maximum speed possible when it works.

    Also, I just thought of this: how can I find out which of my USB ports are 2.0 and which aren't? This might have something to do with my poor signal....
    I'm not sure any of this is significant.
    $ modinfo rt3572sta | grep version
    version: 2.5.0.0
    srcversion: 76F1B8BB549BF51556EFB4F
    vermagic: 3.0.0-15-generic SMP mod_unload modversions
    ...And I'm suspicious that is significant. Please check here: http://confignewton.com/?p=104
    Actually the newest version of the drivers for this card do not function correctly, they’ll compile sure but when it comes to actually using them they just won’t work and you’ll be left spinning your wheels for a few hours until you figure out what you’re doing differently from other folks who have gotten it to work
    I suggest you uninstall the version you have now:
    Code:
    cd Desktop/RT3572   <---or wherever you extracted the file
    sudo su
    make uninstall
    modprobe -r rt3572sta
    exit
    Then download the pre-edited files referenced in the link and extract and compile as usual:
    Code:
    cd Desktop/RT3572edited
    sudo su
    make clean
    make
    make install
    modprobe rt3572sta
    exit
    Now does the dmesg listings look a bit better?
    Code:
    dmesg | grep -e rt3 -e ra0
    Does it connect?
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    12

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    Interesting! I did make uninstall for the 2.5 and installed the preedited, older version. It seems to have successfully installed, but I see nothing under the network menu.


    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ modinfo rt3572sta | grep version
    version:        2.4.0.2
    srcversion:     5B6BA19EC0AF027DB454414
    vermagic:       3.0.0-15-generic SMP mod_unload modversions
    It is plugged in...

    Code:
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 13b1:002f Linksys AE1000 v1 802.11n [Ralink RT2870]
    Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:0a15 Logitech, Inc. 
    Bus 006 Device 002: ID 03f0:2b11 Hewlett-Packard PSC 2170 series
    Bus 006 Device 003: ID 046d:c223 Logitech, Inc. G11/G15 Keyboard / USB Hub
    Bus 006 Device 004: ID 046d:c221 Logitech, Inc. G11/G15 Keyboard / Keyboard
    Bus 006 Device 005: ID 046d:c51a Logitech, Inc. MX Revolution/G7 Cordless Mouse
    Bus 006 Device 006: ID 046d:c222 Logitech, Inc. G15 Keyboard / LCD
    
    adam@adam-ubuntu:~$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    I did several of these, but to no avail (and no errors):

    Code:
    make uninstall
    make clean
    make
    make install
    modprobe rt3572sta
    EDIT: Looking through the pre-edited files, I saw that ./common/rtusb_dev_id.c didn't have the appropriate line added for the AE1000. I added it, uninstalled and reinstalled and I still get the same as above.
    Last edited by LoserDude27; January 29th, 2012 at 06:03 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    19,943
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    I saw that ./common/rtusb_dev_id.c didn't have the appropriate line
    Let's see wht it looks like now that you edited it. Please attach it as an attachment to your reply.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    12

    Talking Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    It's working!! I rebooted into Windows to do a remote assistance for someone, came back on to Ubuntu, reinstalled one more time, and now it works!

    I'll let you know if this is a fluke or not....

    Thanks so much for your help, chili!

    EDIT: Is there anything else I should do to make sure this configuration stays working? Also, it appears that I have to unplug and replug my adapter every time I reboot (but I haven't rebooted since a successful connection). This happens in Windows, also.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by LoserDude27; January 30th, 2012 at 01:42 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    19,943
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Trouble with Linksys AE1000 After Successful Driver Installation

    Quote Originally Posted by LoserDude27 View Post
    It's working!! I rebooted into Windows to do a remote assistance for someone, came back on to Ubuntu, reinstalled one more time, and now it works!

    I'll let you know if this is a fluke or not....

    Thanks so much for your help, chili!

    EDIT: Is there anything else I should do to make sure this configuration stays working? Also, it appears that I have to unplug and replug my adapter every time I reboot (but I haven't rebooted since a successful connection). This happens in Windows, also.
    Please try this:
    Code:
    sudo su
    echo rt3572sta >> /etc/modules
    exit
    Now does it start on boot?

    Your rtusb_dev_id.c file looks perfect! Nicely done.
    Last edited by chili555; January 30th, 2012 at 02:09 AM.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •