Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 60

Thread: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Caprica
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    I don't have any option in the Global Menu when I run Nautilus as root. Therefore I have no way to access these options (and their sub-options): File, Edit, View, History, Go, Bookmarks, Help.

    All I can do is what's available in the right-click context menus.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    241

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    So what. Do not run Nautilus as root. There is no need to run Nautilus as root. Period.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Caprica
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Why answer at all? I run whatever I want, in any way I want, in my PC.

    Kind Regards,
    Effenberg
    Last edited by coffeecat; January 20th, 2012 at 10:04 PM. Reason: snip

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Beans
    241

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Right, if you open your home for drug dealers you will be punished. Agree?
    If you compromise your box and it is connected to the internet it becomes a platform for cyber-criminals.

    The two stupidest things a computer user can do is:

    Running X as root;
    using computer as root.

    Do not do it. It is not up for discussion. It is a good practice established long time ago.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Caprica
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    I am not a newbie and am completely aware of everything you said. But it's up to me when and/or why use any resource.

    My question is why the global menu doesn't show now, because it did in the past. If you can't answer that, just don't answer anything.
    Last edited by effenberg0x0; January 20th, 2012 at 10:00 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,534
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by effenberg0x0 View Post
    I don't have any option in the Global Menu when I run Nautilus as root. Therefore I have no way to access these options (and their sub-options): File, Edit, View, History, Go, Bookmarks, Help.

    All I can do is what's available in the right-click context menus.
    Yep. same here .. do you think there may be a switch for that ? ie; #nautilus -<switch>
    This is Rolling Release
    Warnings for New Beta Testers& Helpful Terminal Commands:
    Running Trusty /devel/@ 5.120GHz32bit/ Please put [ prefix] on New Threads!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At home
    Beans
    1,359
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Has to do with the privileges. You changed something and you don't remember it. Maybe removing .ICEauthority and .Xauthority?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Caprica
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by ventrical View Post
    Yep. same here .. do you think there may be a switch for that ? ie; #nautilus -<switch>
    Hey Ventrical,
    JBicha already reported. Just found it. It's an environment variable...
    See https://bugs.launchpad.net/indicator...nu/+bug/592842

    I wonder why a respected developer would want to use Nautilus as root, since user Buntumatic said it very clear that it would be stupid and is forbidden.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Caprica
    Beans
    1,995
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by BC59 View Post
    Has to do with the privileges. You changed something and you don't remember it. Maybe removing .ICEauthority and .Xauthority?
    Hi, it seems that $UBUNTU_MENUPROXY is not exported for root.

    EDIT:
    Confirmed. You can see the variable for standard users but not for root. Exporting it for root "fixes" it.
    Code:
    $ echo $UBUNTU_MENUPROXY
    libappmenu.so
    Last edited by effenberg0x0; January 20th, 2012 at 10:07 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At home
    Beans
    1,359
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Nautilus as root - No Global Menu

    I cannot reproduce it because I don't use global menu.

    To delete the global menu and retrieve the normal window menu:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove appmenu-gtk3 appmenu-gtk appmenu-qt

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •