Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    For those who are interested, I have created a web-based remote control for Spotify for Linux, optimized for mobile devices.

    If you, like me, have a Linux-powered HTPC connected to a good sound system, being able to control Spotify wherever you are, using whatever device you've got, is great.

    Link:
    http://code.google.com/p/spotcommander/

    Screenshots and video available.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    SpotCommander 3.0 released.

    Screenshots, video, changelog & download:

    http://code.google.com/p/spotcommander/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Hey,

    I just wanted to let you know, that your project is awesome and I really appreciate your work!
    As far as I can see, it works flawlessly =)

    Kind Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by flore2003 View Post
    Hey,

    I just wanted to let you know, that your project is awesome and I really appreciate your work!
    As far as I can see, it works flawlessly =)

    Kind Regards
    Thanks!

    SpotCommander is now in version 4.2:
    http://code.google.com/p/spotcommander/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Great tool, but how do you get the playlists to appear?

    I am using spotify playlist folders? Are they compatible?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by pieeater3142 View Post
    Great tool, but how do you get the playlists to appear?

    I am using spotify playlist folders? Are they compatible?
    Unfortunately SpotCommander can not get your playlists from the Spotify program, there is no playlist web API and libspotify is out of the question, so you have to add the playlists you want manually.

    In SpotCommander, go to playlists > "Add playlist" > "How to" to find out how to add playlists. It will display different procedures depending on which device you are accessing SpotCommander from (smartphone/tablet or a desktop computer).

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    SpotCommander now in version 6.0:

    http://code.google.com/p/spotcommander/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Scotland :)
    Beans
    85
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    It doesn't work with my ageing Pre 2, but then I'm not surprised.
    Where are my eyes? ... Oh there they are.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    23

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by Henkdroid View Post
    It doesn't work with my ageing Pre 2, but then I'm not surprised.
    I see that Palm Pre 2 doesn't add "mobile" to the user agent as other mobile WebKit browsers, so it would probably be detected as a desktop device. Anyway, it seems to be running the same WebKit version as iOS 5.1.1, so I can't see why it shouldn't work as long as it is detected correctly, unless Palm has done something stupid. You can try to add "webOS" at the end of line 70 in main.php.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Scotland :)
    Beans
    85
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: SpotCommander: Remote control Spotify for Linux

    Quote Originally Posted by olejon View Post
    I see that Palm Pre 2 doesn't add "mobile" to the user agent as other mobile WebKit browsers, so it would probably be detected as a desktop device. Anyway, it seems to be running the same WebKit version as iOS 5.1.1, so I can't see why it shouldn't work as long as it is detected correctly, unless Palm has done something stupid. You can try to add "webOS" at the end of line 70 in main.php.
    Sorry, that didn't work. The buttons don't do anything, the browser is pretty rubbish especially with newer websites.
    Where are my eyes? ... Oh there they are.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •