Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installation Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    7

    Installation Issue

    I've tried to get this resolved on the Linux Mint forum but no one could really tell me what to do, so I thought I would give it a chance here. I assume I would get the same error if I tried installing Ubuntu. If not, I will try and install it instead.

    The error I am receiving:
    http://i.imgur.com/Np7ie.jpg

    More detail:
    http://i.imgur.com/2xov0.png
    (It's showing me as having a striped 1tB HD but I told it not to use a raid array in my BIOS).

    BIOS #1:
    http://i.imgur.com/OgVzr.jpg

    BIOS #2:
    http://i.imgur.com/28Wyb.jpg

    BIOS #3:
    http://i.imgur.com/VL37M.jpg

    My RAID is disabled, right? So why is it showing that I don't have two 500gB HD's?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Installation Issue

    Did you buy the SATA HDDs new or get them used? Do you know if there was once a raid installed on one or both of the drives?

    I read in a recent post, that sometimes a drive will retain the raid information until forced to relese it. I'll look for it and add it when I find it.

    The other thought is that it (the mint installation) is asking you if it should create a software raid using both disks. That's the marked option in your first screenshot. The option to use both drives appears to be the first, not selected option...

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    7

    Re: Installation Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by spacecheck View Post
    Did you buy the SATA HDDs new or get them used? Do you know if there was once a raid installed on one or both of the drives?

    I read in a recent post, that sometimes a drive will retain the raid information until forced to relese it. I'll look for it and add it when I find it.

    The other thought is that it (the mint installation) is asking you if it should create a software raid using both disks. That's the marked option in your first screenshot. The option to use both drives appears to be the first, not selected option...

    Good luck!
    It use to be set up as Raid 0 because I was using Windows 7, how do I force it to release?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Installation Issue

    According to this post:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1324025&page=2

    You would run:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove dmraid
    If it works please mark the thread as Solved.
    Good luck!
    Last edited by spacecheck; January 12th, 2012 at 11:57 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Segur De Calafell, Spain
    Beans
    11,660
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installation Issue

    Boot ubuntu in live mode with the cd and in terminal run:

    sudo dmraid -E -r /dev/sda

    Replace /dev/sda with the correct disk name(s), like /dev/sdb, /dev/sdc, etc. Do this on all disks you want to remove the raid meta data from.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Segur De Calafell, Spain
    Beans
    11,660
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installation Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by spacecheck View Post
    According to this post:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1324025&page=2

    You would run:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove dmraid
    No, that just removes the dmraid package temporarily from the live mode. The meta data will remain unless removed as posted above.

    While it might allow you to install with simply removing the package, the existing meta data will become a problem sooner or later.
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS 64bit & Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    7

    Re: Installation Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by spacecheck View Post
    According to this post:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1324025&page=2

    You would run:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove dmraid
    I'm slowly getting there, it's now showing up as two 500gB HD's, clcked to install it on one and got "The ext4 file system creation in partition #1 of SCSI6 (0,0,0) (sda) failed."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Installation Issue

    See darkod's forgoing post.

    If it works please mark the thread as Solved.

    Good luck!
    Last edited by spacecheck; January 13th, 2012 at 12:07 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    7

    Re: Installation Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by spacecheck View Post
    See darkod's forgoing post.

    If it works please mark the thread as Solved.

    Good luck!
    Thank you all so much, worked great!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •