Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    2

    how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Hi there,
    are there any optimizations I can do to further utilize large memory. I have 8 G memory on my laptop and I installed ubuntu 11.10 64bit. I Now the system only use 10% of my memory.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NIPPON (aka Japan)
    Beans
    230
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    What about running more than one Virtual Machine?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Quote Originally Posted by kazztan0325 View Post
    What about running more than one Virtual Machine?
    I don't use virtual machine. I just want system to cache more data so I can launch application faster. I want minimize disk write.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    NIPPON (aka Japan)
    Beans
    230
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Then what about using Ramdisk?

    You would be able to refer this post and its thread.
    "HOW TO: mount /tmp to ram for increased preformance."
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1054129

  5. #5
    dino99's Avatar
    dino99 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nux Jam
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    you can tweak the swappiness if you like, but the default settings are already optimized

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,749

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Quote Originally Posted by ilovelyy View Post
    I don't use virtual machine. I just want system to cache more data so I can launch application faster. I want minimize disk write.
    Launching applications does not write to disk (it reads).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    You could install preload

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install preload
    Slows down initial boot a tad for some people, but it preloads apps as it learns what you use. Depending on the speed of your system you may see a difference. If not you just have more ram than you need. I have 4GB's and even when I run a VM I never use all my RAM let alone touch swap. Even compiling a kernel I don't go over 4GB's.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    7,749

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Loading an application takes x seconds. If you use preload then you shunt those x seconds to the boot process rather than while you are using the desktop. There is no change in x but perhaps a psychological benefit (a small increase in boot time is less frustrating than a laggy desktop).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lake Wales Florida
    Beans
    607
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Decrease your swappiness to 10. I don't think you will see any difference in memory usage but you should see a vast improvement in performance. Make sure you read the whole page (it's on the bottom).
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq
    AMD FX-6200 - MSI 4.1Ghz- Nvidia GTX550Ti -12/GIG - 60GB-SSD/500 Sata - 12.04 - Gnome 3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Beans
    659
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: how to make ubuntu 11.10 64bit further leverage large memoy

    Quote Originally Posted by snowpine View Post
    Loading an application takes x seconds. If you use preload then you shunt those x seconds to the boot process rather than while you are using the desktop. There is no change in x but perhaps a psychological benefit (a small increase in boot time is less frustrating than a laggy desktop).
    preload runs all the time. it reanalyzes every 20 seconds if it should preload anything else (you can change that in the preload.conf file). ureadahead is the one that only runs during the boot process.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobhuber
    Decrease your swappiness to 10. I don't think you will see any difference in memory usage but you should see a vast improvement in performance. Make sure you read the whole page (it's on the bottom).
    If you don't use the swap partition does decreasing swappiness really make a difference? I only have 4GB's of RAM but I never use the swap partition. Free always looks like this for me:

    Code:
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:       4009916    1539100    2470816          0      72928     493388
    -/+ buffers/cache:     972784    3037132
    Swap:      4455420          0    4455420

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •