Page 35 of 122 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast
Results 341 to 350 of 1220

Thread: Wayland Live CD

  1. #341
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,238
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    @23dornot23d

    Any luck Keith, or takeing a break ?

  2. #342
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Took a break from it .... the new Gimp is out at RC1 was looking at that

    Last edited by 23dornot23d; April 6th, 2012 at 04:29 AM.

  3. #343
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,238
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Both my Kahel's are screwed up since trying wayland and the newer Chakra is acting weird to, I need to step in some leprechaun dodo, maybe change my luck...
    or buy that book "Linux for Dummys"

  4. #344
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Nooooo

    The thing is there are 2 unknown variables here none are complete yet

    Wayland is still in early development
    QT5 has only just been released as a test package

    Anything we do to add to the existing Build is not guaranteed in any way .....

    We went through similar with Gnome-Shell and that all came together ......

    You and me probably have installed more versions of Linux than most .... and if
    it screws up ..... remove the partition and re-install from the DVD/CD

    Back to a full working system ...... in 30 mins ......

    Going through all the things again in a different order or adding/removing things we did
    last time that screwed it up (thats the time consuming bit)

    Give it another go ..... the version of RB2 and RB3 - I now have running ok
    and Kahel (Arch) this is a big bonus on my old laptop (ty)

    We can hang on for a bit and let the devs do there stuff now ......

    Then return when some more things come out ....

    I need to step in some leprechaun dodo, maybe change my luck...
    Me too ... lols

  5. #345
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,238
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    The only RBLOS working for me now is the old one (2-11-12).
    I wish nerdopolis would come on and give some info, haven't seem him on here or the irc channel, maybe hes on when im off, not sure of his time zone.
    Im on and off with all my senior citizen naps I take !

  6. #346
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Maybe he is busy doing other things ..... to make it all come together nicely .....
    There is a lot more to this than meets the eye .....

    Best of luck with any improvements to it though ..... will keep watching for progress
    as I said before after 12.04 is out I expect more will be done as they can then add it
    into the test for 12.10 ( if that is the way they go with it )

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTA3MTE

  7. #347
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    298
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    The only RBLOS working for me now is the old one (2-11-12).
    I wish nerdopolis would come on and give some info, haven't seem him on here or the irc channel, maybe hes on when im off, not sure of his time zone.
    Im on and off with all my senior citizen naps I take !
    I'm still trying to figure out the best way to do this.

    Various tookits are not compiling for now. Some use Wayland 0.85, some work against master, some don't work at all...

    The thing is, I'm going to end up with an older version of Wayland to satisfy GTK and clutter on the Live CD, when there are changes that make Wayland better...
    The glass is at 50% of its capacity.


  8. #348
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,238
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    I'm still trying to figure out the best way to do this.

    Various tookits are not compiling for now. Some use Wayland 0.85, some work against master, some don't work at all...

    The thing is, I'm going to end up with an older version of Wayland to satisfy GTK and clutter on the Live CD, when there are changes that make Wayland better...
    Thanks for the reply, good luck.

  9. #349
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    59

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    I don't understand why you guys to go through all this effort without reading the wayland mailing list or being in the #wayland channel on irc.freenode.net. And #qt-labs on irc.freenode.net specifically for building qt5.

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    I am seeing some build problems ..... so have now started to look for
    a QT web browser ....

    Found this one ..... https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=128681
    The full qt5 source includes qtwebkit, which is the browser running in my wayland video: http://www.chaosreigns.com/wayland/d...t-youtube.html

    I described all of that on the wayland mailing list: http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive...ch/002655.html


    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    UBUNTU - Wayland - build-0.85.sh - Fails here
    I'd love to help you with that.
    "make[1]: Entering directory `/home/keith/source/mesa/src'"
    It's mesa that's failing to build. That error message sucks.

    mesa can get to be a bit of a mess between compiles, and seems to require cleaning more than anything else, basically "cd /home/keith/source/mesa && git clean -xfd", then re-run the script. In the script, there's a line that says "CLEAN=", you can comment that out, and uncomment the line above it, and it'll automatically do this cleaning for you each time. That just results in building taking longer because it has to start all over.

    "git clean -xfd" should get you back to the point equivalent to deleting the mesa directory and re-running the script to have it completely re-downloaded.

    It's probably worth doing "rm -rf ~/install" at the same time, to make sure there isn't anything broken installed there that it's somehow trying to use.

    If you want to try something more drastic, you can also do "rm -rf ~/source", so it has to re-download all of the source. Although that *should* never be necessary. You *should* get the same effect from "cd ~/source; for dir in *; do cd $dir; git clean -xfd; cd ..; done" (just git cleaning all the git repos).

    If cleaning and deleting ~/install doesn't help, I'd say either there's a bug in mesa, or it's lacking a more appropriate error message (which still comes down to a bug in mesa). I'd try asking the wayland irc channel or mailing list. You could also try the mesa mailing list.

    A huge problem with this is most of the time people have a compile error like this, it's their own fault, they forgot something dumb. So people who could help you often won't pay attention, assuming it's your fault and not having the time to deal with that.


    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    I never use IRC as I am not that technically minded to be able to discuss the things
    happening here and understand what is going on ...... when people text back.
    Yeah but that's the place to ask questions of people who have a far better understanding of these things than nerdopolis or I. Hint: He and I are not the experts.

  10. #350
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Will work through the things that you mentioned now .... thanks Darxus ...

    keith@keith-Aspire-7730ZG:~$ sudo apt-get install libxcb-icccm4-dev libxcb-image0-dev libxcb-keysyms1-dev libxcb-sync0-dev
    [sudo] password for keith:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    libxcb-icccm4-dev is already the newest version.
    libxcb-sync0-dev is already the newest version.
    libxcb-image0-dev is already the newest version.
    libxcb-keysyms1-dev is already the newest version.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 22 not upgraded.
    keith@keith-Aspire-7730ZG:~$ cd /home/keith/source/mesa && git clean -xfd
    Removing aclocal.m4
    Removing autom4te.cache/
    Removing bin/depcomp
    Removing bin/missing
    Removing config.log
    Removing config.status
    Removing configs/autoconf
    Removing configs/current
    Removing configure
    Removing lib/
    Removing src/mapi/glapi/gen/gl_XML.pyo
    Removing src/mapi/shared-glapi/depend
    Removing src/mapi/shared-glapi/entry.o
    Removing src/mapi/shared-glapi/glapi_mapi_tmp.h
    Removing src/mesa/main/git_sha1.h
    Removing src/mesa/main/git_sha1.h.tmp
    Removing tests/Makefile
    Removing tests/Makefile.in
    Removing tests/glx/.deps/
    Removing tests/glx/Makefile
    Removing tests/glx/Makefile.in
    keith@keith-Aspire-7730ZG:~/source/mesa$
    A huge problem with this is most of the time people have a compile error like this, it's their own fault, they forgot something dumb. So people who could help you often won't pay attention, assuming it's your fault and not having the time to deal with that.
    I understand ..... but the fact that people do take time out to help others makes it better for lots of
    users ..... there are lots of people read these threads and we only need telling once - especially if users
    hit the same problems over and over .....

    Now you have said about removing the files ..... it makes sense to me now why the error popped up.

    It seems better to do a clean build ......


    Mesa has built ok now thanks ..... solved that one ......

    Doing the Full wayland build on Ubuntu .... and upto now is going well upto gtk3




    now to the webkit as that is one thing

    I would like to see working ..... as well as to be able to build apps using QT5 ......
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; April 6th, 2012 at 08:44 PM.

Page 35 of 122 FirstFirst ... 2533343536374585 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •