Page 15 of 119 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565115 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 1189

Thread: Wayland Live CD

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,235
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Put gnome-shell in here and still no luck !

    1 is wayland (westoncaller)
    2 found where you did the pic
    (image shack)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cecilpierce; February 17th, 2012 at 10:56 PM.

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    The picture in the middle of my text ..... is a crop of a screenshot

    I put it into imageshack and then paste the direct link into the editor using the symbol
    above that looks like a mountain on a yellow background .... if you mouse over it
    it says insert image.


    Even with Gnome-Shell installed .... I have to go into KDE to get wayland to run from
    the icon ..... try that .....

    VIDEO ..... running mandelbrot .... but it only zooms out .... not in ....
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 18th, 2012 at 01:21 AM.

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,235
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Its getting late, I already fell asleep waiting for 650 updates, its kinda working but a pain looking for things.

    Had to type: 'sudo weston' to get it to work.
    westoncaller gives me the messed up window!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cecilpierce; February 18th, 2012 at 05:09 AM. Reason: add

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Great to see Cecil .... back up and running .... ( looks like thats the first install too - just 2 icons )

    I too got some more graphics working and am now compiling using QT5

    Video .... shows animated cards

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    298
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    Its getting late, I already fell asleep waiting for 650 updates, its kinda working but a pain looking for things.

    Had to type: 'sudo weston' to get it to work.
    westoncaller gives me the messed up window!

    The only thing that I could see that could effect that is westoncaller sets LD_LIBRARY_PATH to what it should be.

    That seems to be an old version of my CD. It's missing the new icon I added for the diagnosis terminal.

    I made some changes in the way I compiled Wayland, and it works in a window under VirtualBox, and many other fixes that are not pulled in with the update manager. (because there are no repositories for my changes)
    The glass is at 50% of its capacity.


  6. #146
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Just worked out that not all is what it seemed .....

    The demos are running globally now .... which was confusing at first ....

    typed in states .... expecting to see a demo I had compiled and a different one popped up

    then running states from the directory I was in worked .....

    But I am getting errors now using QT5 declaration not found ..... and some libraries seem
    to be missing .....

    Will continue ... but think something is not working in QT5 .... maybe its just me not
    understanding QT5 ..... but it seemed to install ok .... maybe I should start a thread for QT5 problems ...
    but if not many are using it .... then its going to be a waste ....

    Here is another Video showing the States program running ..... excuse the mixed setting
    was running Gnome-Shell and KDE together to see if they would work ok .....

    Video ..... states ..... old and new
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 18th, 2012 at 02:04 PM.

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,235
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    The only thing that I could see that could effect that is westoncaller sets LD_LIBRARY_PATH to what it should be.

    That seems to be an old version of my CD. It's missing the new icon I added for the diagnosis terminal.

    I made some changes in the way I compiled Wayland, and it works in a window under VirtualBox, and many other fixes that are not pulled in with the update manager. (because there are no repositories for my changes)
    Check this out, maybe make your own ppa:
    https://help.launchpad.net/Packaging/PPA

    I have 2 RBL's installed but only one works, I guess thats the one you said was old, is there a place where all your uploads are with the dates?

    Thanks, Cecil
    Last edited by cecilpierce; February 19th, 2012 at 12:59 PM.

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    298
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    Check this out, maybe make your own ppa:
    https://help.launchpad.net/Packaging/PPA

    I have 2 RBL's installed but only one works, I guess thats the one you said was old, is there a place where all your uploads are with the dates?

    Thanks, Cecil

    If I make my own PPA, I'll have to make my own debian/rules files, and figure out what packages they all depend on to make the debs.

    I added dates to the ISO names, but I don't have a versioning scheme yet... take a peek at the creation/modified dates of the files that are made by me on the CD, such as /usr/bin/chooseserver ?
    The glass is at 50% of its capacity.


  9. #149
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Just installed the latest version ..... after boot it stops at a black screen

    By going in Ctrl+Alt+f2

    I can then login .... and startx ......

    If I make my own PPA, I'll have to make my own debian/rules files, and figure out what packages they all depend on to make the debs.
    Will look forward to seeing a PPA nerdopolis ...... that will make things a lot easier ....
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 19th, 2012 at 07:33 PM.

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    298
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Wayland Live CD

    Quote Originally Posted by 23dornot23d View Post
    Just installed the latest version ..... after boot it stops at a black screen

    By going in Ctrl+Alt+f2

    I can then login .... and startx ......
    When it's installed, it only tries to start Wayland, I don't have the option yet. If Wayland crashes, it should fall back to X... But Wayland could be hanging on startup...

    I'll need to find a way to fix that
    The glass is at 50% of its capacity.


Page 15 of 119 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565115 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •