Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PowerPC FAQ Update

rsavage is offline Iced Almond Soy Ubuntu, No Foam
    Beans

PowerPC FAQ Update

Hi All,

It's been over a year since the FAQ has had an update and I'm just wondering if anybody would like to help me bring it back to life?

I'm thinking of "retiring" from the Apple forum and it will niggle me if I leave the PowerPC FAQ in such a poor state.

I've never done any wiki editing before, it looks a little bizzare, so if you're a whizz at this sort of thing then your help will be greatly appreciated.

I would very much like to hear ideas of what new things should be in there. If I'm left on my own to update it then I'm liable to slash and burn large chunks of the current FAQ, so if you are particularly precious about a part of it then you better let me know!

Thoughts/suggestions/help appreciated.

Thanks

Beans

Re: PowerPC FAQ Update

It would be useful to address the issues regarding the 11.04 upgrade (slowness) and the 11.10 upgrade (not rebooting after upgrading).
    Desktop: Ubuntustudio 20.04 running on AMD Ryzen 5 3600X, with Nvidia Geforce 1050Ti graphics; Laptop: Ubuntustudio 20.04 running on a Intel i5 6200U @2.30 GHz

Beans

The solutions to these problems have been on the forum for a while now, but they are now on the Known Issues page too! https://wiki.ubuntu.com/PowerPCKnownIssues

Beans

Just an update....

I've tidied up the Downloads page and removed all old links. I've added the 12.04 CDs that are available for testing.

The Known issues page is now up-to-date. There is even a section for 12.04. Can people confirm the mirror archive/server problem still exists for 12.04 live CDs? I've put what I think the problem is from looking at the code. I'm a bit rusty at reading code though....

The PowerPC FAQ now has all the information that the Lubuntu thread has. It still needs a tidy up/spell check etc.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Good work rsavage!