Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I install Ubuntu? What reasons are there?

Beans

Cool Should I install Ubuntu? What reasons are there?

Hello! I am an extremely new member of this community, if I can be considered one. And I was wondering what reasons there were for me to install Ubuntu onto my computer.

I have no experience with programming applications. Right now, I am running Windows Vista. I am a big gamer, and do the super-majority of my gaming on the PC. I've been told by people that Ubuntu/Linux can't run Steam games, or games for Windows in general.

I aspire to become a programmer and general "tech guru", and I have recently started to teach myself Python. I'm interested in Ubuntu and programming and computers, but I can't think of a reason myself to install it.

A family friend recently suggested that I use Ubuntu when I was having some problems with my primary OS. He burned me a copy of Ubuntu to install if I couldn't fix the problem, but I did fix the problem and now the disk is just sitting on my desk.

tl;dr I'm not a programmer (yet), but I am a gamer. Why should I dual boot install Ubuntu on my PC if it won't get used?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: Should I install Ubuntu? What reasons are there?

In a word; don't.

If windows is OK for you, use whatever works best for you. Now get back to programming!

You may decide to come back to Ubuntu when you're ready. For instance, the API(s) is/are open-source and much better-documented IMO. And setting up programming is a little easier, and closer to the hardware.

tl;dr - don't.

PS-just pop the little disc in and boot it...you know you want to. Seriously, why don't you try it? You can boot from CD and not change your OS at all. But booting from a CD will be very slow.
    Last edited by MG&TL; January 5th, 2012 at 08:17 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

If you use your PC for gaming only, you should not install ubuntu.