Thread: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

Beans

Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

I am very new to Ubuntu and I haven't had problems with my internet connection via wireless until I plugged my friend's wired internet into the computer. I was connected for a while and then when I rebooted the computer I was asked to type in a password which has never been needed to start the computer. When I went to open the wicd network it asked for a password also/ sometimes now it will just show the icon in the dock as if it's opening then disappear.

the message I get is: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface. Check the wicd log for error messages.

I looked up how to check the wicd log but when I got to the var/log/wicd the folder icon had an "x" on it and the folder is empty.

I also read a forum where they said to check the etc/init.d/wicd

and the forum had the proper scripts to replace it with. However when I tried to put the correct scripts in I got this message:

Could not save the file /etc/init.d/wicd. You do not have the permissions necessary to save the file. Please check that you typed the location correctly and try again.

I also tried going to the "/etc/wicd/wired-settings.conf" but when I do the manager-settings.conf has an "x", wired-settings.conf has an "x" and the wireless-settings.conf has an "x" on them and cannot be opened.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem? I am extremely new to Ubuntu and very confused.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Could not connect to wicd's D-Bus interface

I think the solution should be pretty simple- you need to be root user to edit those system files. To edit etc/init.d/wicd open a terminal and type

Code:
    gksu gedit etc/init.d/wicd
    It'll ask you for your password.
    The "gksu" or "sudo" prefix logs you in as root or administrator user. All user profiles in Ubuntu are not administrators for security.
    Try editing your file now, and that might do the trick.

Beans