Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Quote Originally Posted by wildmanne39 View Post
    Hi, this will allow you to install the firmware needed for your driver.

    Download the b43 zip file to a flash drive then drag and drop the file to your ubuntu desktop. Right-click it and select Extract Here. Open a terminal ctrl+alt+t and do:
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /lib/firmware/b43
    sudo cp Desktop/b43/*  /lib/firmware/b43
    sudo rmmod -f b43
    sudo rmmod -f ssb
    sudo modprobe b43
    Run those commands one line at a time, now you should have a working wireless connection.
    Thanks
    wildmanne39, thank you so much!!
    I appreciate everyone's time and help!!!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,758
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Hi, your welcome! would you please go to the top of the page and mark this thread solved by clicking on thread tools.
    Thank you

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Hello All,
    Figured I would post on this thread, as it is pretty much the same situation as I'm having. However, When I try to perform the steps for this solution, it doesn't work. I downloaded and extracted the b43 zip file with no problems. I believe I am running into some problems when I try and run the terminal commands. For instance, when I run the first command this is the result:

    jonathan@SolidSnake:~$ sudo mkdir .lib/firmware/b43
    [sudo] password for jonathan:
    mkdir: cannot create directory `.lib/firmware/b43': No such file or directory

    If anyone could respond, I would greatly appreciate it as I've been trying to fix this for the last 3 nights. Im about at my wit's end. I have a compaq V5000, and I'm running Ubuntu 11.10. I do, however have a working Ethernet connection.

    Thanks in advance!(hopefully)

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Also, here are my results to the previously requested terminal commands if this helps:
    jonathan@SolidSnake:~$ sudo ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:b0:fe:54:be
    inet addr:192.168.2.105 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::20f:b0ff:fefe:54be/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:10503 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9739 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:10771121 (10.7 MB) TX bytes:1799144 (1.7 MB)
    Interrupt:22 Base address:0xa000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    jonathan@SolidSnake:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 Host Bridge (rev 01)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RS480 PCI Bridge
    00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
    00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB Host Controller
    00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 USB2 Host Controller
    00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 SMBus Controller (rev 11)
    00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 IDE Controller
    00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-ISA Bridge
    00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 PCI-PCI Bridge
    00:14.5 Multimedia audio controller: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB400 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:14.6 Modem: ATI Technologies Inc SB400 AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 02)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon XPRESS 200M 5955 (PCIE)
    06:02.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
    06:06.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)

    jonathan@SolidSnake:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

    jonathan@SolidSnake:~$ rfkill list
    0: hp-wifi: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no


    I know that was alot, hope it helps? Also, I've tried a few other fixes from different websites, so that may be interfering?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,758
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Hi, first the commands you typed are not correct, please copy and paste all commands for accuracy, also since you have a wired connection you can just run this command:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter firmware-b43-installer
    unplug wired connection and it should work unless you have installed other drivers or there is something else going on that requires more troubleshooting, just so you know I am not available much at this time so I will be slow at responding.
    Thanks

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    i, too, am having trouble getting my wireless working. i tried the suggestions posted here, and i got an error message saying my wireless network was disconnected and then it went back to saying my firmware was missing. i've been trying to figure out what to do based on the guidance here but with no luck. i do not have a wired connection. this is making me feel rather stupid. please help, i am anxious to get this figured out! thanks in advance...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    14,758
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Installed 11.10, absolutley no internet

    Hi, welcome to the forum! Please open a terminal ctrl+alt+t copy and paste the following commands into it one line at a time, then paste the results here:

    Code:
    cat /etc/lsb-release; uname -a
    lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 net
    iwconfig
    rfkill list all
    lsmod
    I may or may not be able to help you depending on what wireless card you have since you do not have a wired connection.
    Thanks

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •