Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Quote Originally Posted by elliotn View Post
    I find the Gedit method of replacing the the uri's simpler as it doesn't need no effort
    Thank you very much for making me aware of this. I think I'll just add a note on changing the mirrors in gedit. I tested the installation and update process many times before I wrote this, but it never occurred to me that the scripts would be off. Thanks again.

    EDIT: Updated the tutorial.
    Last edited by cortman; February 8th, 2012 at 09:57 PM.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minecraftia
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    I followed all the instructions, but I have a question with the "errors" you said we should get once we reload synaptic.
    I'm getting a strange error:
    Code:
    W: Failed to fetch file:/home/alden/dists/oneiric/main/binary-i386/
    Packages File not found
    Along with the other four folders - restricted, multiverse, universe.
    I ran uname -m, however, and it returned x86_64, which you said indicates a 64-bit installation.
    Do I have to worry about these errors?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Quote Originally Posted by DaimyoKirby View Post
    I followed all the instructions, but I have a question with the "errors" you said we should get once we reload synaptic.
    I'm getting a strange error:
    Code:
    W: Failed to fetch file:/home/alden/dists/oneiric/main/binary-i386/
    Packages File not found
    Along with the other four folders - restricted, multiverse, universe.
    I ran uname -m, however, and it returned x86_64, which you said indicates a 64-bit installation.
    Do I have to worry about these errors?
    Well, it could be a number of things.


    • Did you install the 32 bit or 64 bit version of Synaptic?
    • Did you run the "mkdir" command for the 32 bit or 64 bit?
    • When you added the local repositories in Synaptic, did you point them to an amd_64 folder or an i386 folder?
    • Did you download the 64 bit or 32 bit Packages.gz files?

    It could be one of these. Are all your locally added repositories returning this error?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minecraftia
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    As far as I can tell, I did everything right:
    • I have Xubuntu 11.10 installed, which comes with Synaptic.
    • I ran the mkdir for 64-bit, and just to make sure, I ran it again, and it said the folders were already created.
    • I'm not sure, so that could be the problem...it doesn't seem to say anything about pointing the folders in your instructions...or I just missed it.
    • I definitely downloaded the 64-bit, since I re-downloaded them just to make sure.

    If you mean all the four that I added myself, yes. If not, then you'll need to explain what you mean, since I don't really know what that means.

    Also, I don't know if it matters, but
    1. This isn't a fresh install of Xubuntu.
    2. The computer I have with an internet connection is running Windows XP.
    Last edited by DaimyoKirby; February 26th, 2012 at 03:47 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Sorry if I wasn't clear! One thing to check that will clear some up- visit each folder in your file browser (thunar). Make sure the actual folders ARE amd_64 and not i386. Also confirm that there is a zipped file named Packages in each one.
    If they are indeed amd_64, did you perhaps accidentally add the repository in Synaptic as i386?

    I'm sorry it's giving you trouble! Keep me posted and we'll work it out. Good luck!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minecraftia
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Well, just for kicks I created four more folders named binary-i386 in their respective places, and put a copy of each Packages.gz file into their respective i386 folders (even though the files are amd64), and I didn't get any (abnormal, local)errors...

    How should they have been added in Synaptic as amd64 instead of i386?
    Last edited by DaimyoKirby; February 27th, 2012 at 10:43 PM.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Quote Originally Posted by DaimyoKirby View Post
    Well, just for kicks I created four more folders named binary-i386 in their respective places, and put a copy of each Packages.gz file into their respective i386 folders (even though the files are amd64), and I didn't get any (abnormal, local)errors...

    How should they have been added in Synaptic as amd64 instead of i386?
    Open Synaptic and go to Settings>Repositories> and make SURE the file path says amd_64. This just sounds like somehow you've given the i386 path to Synaptic. Double check that the actual folders ARE called amd_64.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minecraftia
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Oh, I just noticed that something weird is going on: I changed all the folders to "binary-amd_64", versus "binary-amd64", just in case I named them wrong; I got not only the i386 errors, but also amd64 errors.
    So I'm correct in saying that my computer seems to be searching for both amd64 and i386 repositories?

    Also, this is what I'm looking at on my computer:
    [spoiler]


    [/spoiler](meh, don't know why the spoiler tags aren't working...)
    I think everything is right there.
    Last edited by DaimyoKirby; February 28th, 2012 at 05:28 AM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Quote Originally Posted by DaimyoKirby View Post
    So I'm correct in saying that my computer seems to be searching for both amd64 and i386 repositories?
    This sounds right. Try deleting and re-adding the repositories in Synaptic?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Minecraftia
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Offline Synaptic Installation/Repository Updates

    Do you mean to delete just the ones that I added? If so, should I also delete the actual folders I made, and remake them?

    If you mean something different, how would I go about it?

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •