Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Network Connection but can't do anything

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    Check now:

    Code:
    iwconfig
    sudo iwlist scan
    dmesg | grep wl
    I recommend WPA2-AES encryption

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    69

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    The results:


    lo no wireless extensions.

    Eth0 no wireless extensions.


    eth1 IEEE 802.11 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Link Quality:5 Signal level:211 Noise level:199
    Rx invalid nwid:0 invalid crypt:0 invalid misc:0


    eth1 Scan completed :
    Cell 01 - Address: C4:3D:C7:8E:CE:17
    ESSID:"Lucas Network 5ghz a/n"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:5.23 GHz
    Quality:5/5 Signal level:-48 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
    Group Cipher : CCMP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    IE: Unknown: DD860050F204104A0001101044000102103B00010310470010 00000000000010000000C43DC78ECE151021000D4E65746765 61722C20496E632E10230008574E4452333730301024000456 314831104200046E6F6E651054000800060050F20400011011 0017574E445233373030763228576972656C65737320415029 100800020086103C000103
    Encryption keyn
    Bit Rates:6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s
    36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Cell 02 - Address: 00:E0:98:CC:27:AB
    ESSID:"awanas1"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
    Quality:1/5 Signal level:-81 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
    Encryption keyn
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 22 Mb/s
    6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s
    36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
    Cell 03 - Address: C4:3D:C7:8E:CE:15
    ESSID:"Lucas Network 2.4ghz b/g/n/"
    Mode:Managed
    Frequency:2.457 GHz (Channel 10)
    Quality:5/5 Signal level:-31 dBm Noise level:-92 dBm
    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
    Group Cipher : CCMP
    Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
    Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
    IE: Unknown: DD860050F204104A0001101044000102103B00010310470010 00000000000010000000C43DC78ECE151021000D4E65746765 61722C20496E632E10230008574E4452333730301024000456 314831104200046E6F6E651054000800060050F20400011011 0017574E445233373030763228576972656C65737320415029 100800020086103C000103
    Encryption keyn
    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
    9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
    48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s




    [ 18.719465] wl: module license 'MIXED/Proprietary' taints kernel.
    [ 19.139655] wl 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    [ 19.139663] wl 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    69

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    Meant to tell you, for what it's worth, that I have no trouble accessing the other computers on the network.

    Oh...and Merry Christmas!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    Are these your networks to connect to:

    ESSID:"Lucas Network 5ghz a/n"
    ...
    ESSID:"Lucas Network 2.4ghz b/g/n/"
    ?
    Change the ESSIDs to sth. without blanks!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    69

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    Yes, they are the networks. I have a Netgear N600 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router.

    How do I change the ESSID? And why should I? They are the networks I can use.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,889
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Network Connection but can't do anything

    Both networks start with "Lucas Network" and a blank, maybe the NM gets confused" (it really does!) and it wants to connect to either of it. You change the ESSID connecting via cable to the router (because you change settings there; with wireless you would get a disconnect) and change it there for any of your networks.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •