Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Elkmont, Alabama, USA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    If you're wondering how to get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links then here's how:

    Open a terminal and enter the followuing commands

    Code:
    gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/command "/opt/azureus/azureus %s"
    Code:
    gconftool-2 -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/needs_terminal false -t bool
    Code:
    gconftool-2 -t bool -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/enabled true
    That's it. Now when you click on an Azureus magnet link in your browser, it will be opened in Azureus.
    Last edited by Nick Rivers; December 27th, 2006 at 06:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Marlborough, UK
    Beans
    469
    Distro
    Ubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    Great but the first link has curly quotes so it should be
    Code:
    gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/command "/opt/azureus/azureus %s"
    with non curly quotes.
    Regards,
    Haegin
    If all else fails curl up in bed with a good book.
    "<mc44> rob: every time you don’t read the topic, god kills a lolcat"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Elkmont, Alabama, USA
    Beans
    14
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    Thanks for catching the typo! I've corrected the code in my original post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    238

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    Quote Originally Posted by Human Prototype View Post
    Great but the first link has curly quotes so it should be
    Code:
    gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/command "/opt/azureus/azureus %s"
    with non curly quotes.
    in the quotes, it should prolly just say "azureus %s" ... that's the only thing that made it work for me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    8

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    I also had trouble using /opt/azureus/azureus %s.
    I installed azureus with Synaptic. Path to azureus on my machine is
    /usr/bin/azureus.
    Using the first posted code with "/usr/bin/azureus %s" worked for me.
    Thanks for your suggestions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    thanks, my FF problem fixed ,

    i used the:

    Code:
    $> which azureus
    command to find the right path of azureus and replace it to the first command.



    -

    although i fix the problem...
    i have a question, are the commands "vuse" and "azureus" the same?

    Code:
    $> which vuze
    /usr/bin/vuze
    
    $> which azureus
    /usr/bin/azureus
    Last edited by ko_ko_now; November 20th, 2009 at 02:47 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    This also works for deluge, you just have to change the path to match
    Help with Cancer Research and Ubuntu promotion: TeamUbuntu Folding @ Home
    Please mark your thread as SOLVED when it is.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Lund, Sweden
    Beans
    16
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    I wrote in wrong thread
    Last edited by trytenn; November 19th, 2009 at 04:01 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    60

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    Spartan, I tried this with Deluge and it didn't work. What version of deluge do you have (and how/where did you get it)?

    I have deluge 1.1.6 which seems to be the latest available in the normal repositories. But I think deluge is actually up to 1.2.x.

    Even if I try to invoke deluge directly from command line with magnet link as parameter, it just starts deluge and (apparently) ignores the link. Maybe this is just because deluge 1.1.6 does not support the magnets?

    Can you show the exact gconftool command you use for deluge? Is it like this?

    Code:
    gconftool-2 -t string -s /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/magnet/command "/opt/azureus/azureus %s"
    Is it possible that additional quotes are needed around the %s?


    EDIT: Correction, deluge 1.2.0-rc3 is in the repositories and I just upgraded, but I still can't get it to work. There are two problems: (1) deluge starts but apparently does not add the torrent of the magnet link -- maybe I am not seeing because magnet links are handled differently somehow? (2) if deluge is already running, it appears it starts up a second instance of deluge instead (and still does not start the magnet torrent).

    Any idea what I might be doing wrong?
    Last edited by greylander; November 20th, 2009 at 03:33 PM. Reason: correction

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Bolivia
    Beans
    105
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: Get your browser to handle Azureus magnet links

    Any chance of getting it working in Transmission? Also will this work in Chromium?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •