Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 47

Thread: Effective RAM size not recognized

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Beans
    8

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    Try adding this to your boot iommu=memaper=3

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    421
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephan1864 View Post
    Try adding this to your boot iommu=memaper=3
    This is my /boot/grub/grub.cfg

    Where do you think I should add those lines?
    Thanks.

    Code:
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
      set have_grubenv=true
      load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
      set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
      save_env saved_entry
      set prev_saved_entry=
      save_env prev_saved_entry
      set boot_once=true
    fi
    
    function savedefault {
      if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
        saved_entry="${chosen}"
        save_env saved_entry
      fi
    }
    
    function recordfail {
      set recordfail=1
      if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
    }
    
    function load_video {
      insmod vbe
      insmod vga
      insmod video_bochs
      insmod video_cirrus
    }
    
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
      set gfxmode=auto
      load_video
      insmod gfxterm
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
      set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
      set lang=it_IT
      insmod gettext
    fi
    terminal_output gfxterm
    if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
      set timeout=-1
    else
      set timeout=10
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    insmod png
    if background_image /usr/share/images/desktop-base/spacefun-grub.png; then
      set color_normal=light-gray/black
      set color_highlight=white/black
    else
      set menu_color_normal=white/black
      set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
      if background_color 0,71,115; then
        clear
      fi
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    if [ ${recordfail} != 1 ]; then
      if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
        if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
          if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
            set linux_gfx_mode=keep
          else
            set linux_gfx_mode=text
          fi
        else
          set linux_gfx_mode=text
        fi
      else
        set linux_gfx_mode=keep
      fi
    else
      set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
    export linux_gfx_mode
    if [ "$linux_gfx_mode" != "text" ]; then load_video; fi
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-14-generic-pae' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	set gfxpayload=$linux_gfx_mode
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-14-generic-pae root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro splash acpi_osi=Linux  quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-14-generic-pae
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-14-generic-pae (modalitą ripristino)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	echo	'Caricamento Linux 3.0.0-14-generic-pae...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-14-generic-pae root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro recovery nomodeset splash acpi_osi=Linux
    	echo	'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-14-generic-pae
    }
    submenu "Previous Linux versions" {
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-14-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	set gfxpayload=$linux_gfx_mode
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-14-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro splash acpi_osi=Linux  quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-14-generic
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-14-generic (modalitą ripristino)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	echo	'Caricamento Linux 3.0.0-14-generic...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-14-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro recovery nomodeset splash acpi_osi=Linux
    	echo	'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-14-generic
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-13-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	set gfxpayload=$linux_gfx_mode
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-13-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro splash acpi_osi=Linux  quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-13-generic
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-13-generic (modalitą ripristino)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	echo	'Caricamento Linux 3.0.0-13-generic...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-13-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro recovery nomodeset splash acpi_osi=Linux
    	echo	'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-13-generic
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-12-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	set gfxpayload=$linux_gfx_mode
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-12-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro splash acpi_osi=Linux  quiet splash vt.handoff=7
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-12-generic
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, con Linux 3.0.0-12-generic (modalitą ripristino)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    	recordfail
    	insmod gzio
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	echo	'Caricamento Linux 3.0.0-12-generic...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-12-generic root=UUID=243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11 ro recovery nomodeset splash acpi_osi=Linux
    	echo	'Caricamento ramdisk iniziale...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-12-generic
    }
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux16	/boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    	search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 243dc9f9-1d3b-4042-8d5e-bee7480a9e11
    	linux16	/boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    if [ "x${timeout}" != "x-1" ]; then
      if keystatus; then
        if keystatus --shift; then
          set timeout=-1
        else
          set timeout=0
        fi
      else
        if sleep --interruptible 3 ; then
          set timeout=0
        fi
      fi
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    if [ -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
      source $prefix/custom.cfg;
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    Acer Aspire 5730z

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    /etc/default/grub
    Add it to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT string

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    421
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by MoreOrLess View Post
    /etc/default/grub
    Add it to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT string
    I added that line, but again all those tools go on telling me I just have about 3GB of RAM.

    What can I do?
    Thanks.
    Regards.
    Acer Aspire 5730z

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    I forgot to tell you to run update-initramfs after editing (and then reboot) :\
    Code:
    sudo update-initramfs -u -k all

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    421
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    up.

    I still suffer the same problem.
    Many linux kernels updates have been passed on my installation from then on.
    I still cannot understand why I can only use part of my RAM.

    Do you have any clue?
    Thanks.
    Regards.
    Acer Aspire 5730z

  7. #27
    prodigy_ is offline May the Ubuntu Be With You!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    1,219

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    Why don't you just install a 64-bit OS? This wouid certainly solve the problem.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Arizona State
    Beans
    419
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    I know that you said your computer supports up to 8GB of RAM, but are you absolutely sure about that? I am on an IBM Thinkpad T60 right now which has 4GB of RAM installed in it. It has an i915 chipset and therefor will only address 3GB of the 4GB I have installed.

  9. #29
    prodigy_ is offline May the Ubuntu Be With You!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    1,219

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized

    Quote Originally Posted by N00b-un-2 View Post
    IBM Thinkpad T60 right now which has 4GB of RAM installed in it. It has an i915 chipset and therefor will only address 3GB of the 4GB I have installed.
    The OP's laptop is based on Pentium T3x00, so it supports 64-bit.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Arizona State
    Beans
    419
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Effective RAM size not recognized


    You are not listening to what I'm saying. I HAVE A CORE 2 DUO. My computer is 64 bit as well. I am running Windows 8 Pro 64 bit, Ubuntu 12.10 64 bit and Mac OS X 10.6.8 which is ALSO 64 bit. The limitation is not an architecture limitation (the 32 bit 3GB RAM ceiling). The issue is the north/south bridge controller chipset. It is a hardware limitation of the chipset of my motherboard that ANY operating system, regardless of whether i386 or x86_64 will ONLY be able to utilize 3GB of RAM. PERIOD.

    What I am suggesting is that perhaps the OP's computer has a similar hardware limitation. OP stated that his computer supports up to 8GB of memory, but given that it refuses to allocate the full amount of installed memory even using the PAE kernel, it's quite possible that this is hardware limitation like mine.
    Last edited by N00b-un-2; February 26th, 2013 at 04:39 PM.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •