Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: create windows 7 system recovery disc set

create windows 7 system recovery disc set

Hi All,

I bought a (new) Dell 15r that will not allow me to create a set of system recovery disks. I haven't moved linux to it yet.

Dell claims there is a partition with the system recovery data on it, but strongly suggests that a set of recovery DVD's be created, and then safely stored for future use if needed.

I have no experience with Windows 7, and this is my first 64 bit system.

But the utility program they give for creating the system recovery DVD set always fails on the second DVD, and always stops at 50 percent of the final (verification) step in the burning process.

Is there any way to use linux to save the factory installed system recovery partition? Conezilla would do the job, but I do not want to buy a 750 GB hard drive (my Dell has a 640 GB drive).

Appreciate any help.

Regards,

Art
    Last edited by goodbye-windows(tm); December 11th, 2011 at 10:14 PM.

Beans

Re: create windows 7 system recovery disc set

If it's indeed a new PC, then get on to Dell support, and tell them the DVD writer must be faulty, as it consistently fails to write the diks without a problem. They should then supply a new one, and may install it for you (depending on what type of support you have).
    Derek

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Another possibility is a corrupted file in the recovery partition. The verification process would probably be some sort of checksum, and it's significant that it's consistently the second DVD that fails. If the first passes, then it could be a file that belongs in the second DVD that is corrupted.

Explain the situation to Dell and hope that you get someone on the help desk who lives up to the name. At the very least they should supply you with a free set of recovery DVDs. At most they should re-install the OS and the recovery partition for you.