Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    6

    Exclamation Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    Hi all,
    I'm new here and i don't know if this is the right place to state this issue but here goes. I use ubuntu 10.10 and while creating a startup disk using my 16GB usb drive, i noticed that only a few ISOs i'm able to add, the rest even if i double click on them do not show up in the source disc image column. It worked fine with a kubuntu ISO and a linux mint ISO but not with fedora and arclinux. Any idea why? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    255
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    I'm just guessing here, but maybe that tool is Ubuntu specific (I think it is), and thus only works with Ubuntu and Ubuntu-based systems (like Kubuntu and Mint in your case). I know there are other tools that work with any distro, but sadly can't remember the name...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    43
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    A good one is the MultiBootUSB script. This is nice as it's the only setup tool I found that doesn't format your USB stick. This uses Grub2 which may not install successfully on all USB sticks (I dunno what boot loader the startup disk creator uses).
    The difference between theory and reality is that, in theory, there should be no difference but, in reality, there always is.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    Quote Originally Posted by Hantan View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm new here and i don't know if this is the right place to state this issue but here goes. I use ubuntu 10.10 and while creating a startup disk using my 16GB usb drive, i noticed that only a few ISOs i'm able to add, the rest even if i double click on them do not show up in the source disc image column. It worked fine with a kubuntu ISO and a linux mint ISO but not with fedora and arclinux. Any idea why? Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
    I've got a fair bit of experience - and have the same problem with both 11.10 (an upgrade) and Mint 12 (a clean install.) My .iso is newly created by remastersys and is normal in every way as far as I can see. I have placed it on the desktop and in an ordinary folder. The <Other> button finds it but nothing appears in the application source window.

    I have used remastersys for two years and neither unetbootin nor write-to-dvd has ever had a problem of this nature.

    The developer of remastersys tells me he does not have this problem and his new image both boots fine and opereates as a live system. So - I have no suggestion - yet. Shortly I'll give it a try with 11.04 system.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    No joy here. Nothing interesting in changelog. Tried to execute usb-creator-gtk from terminal and also as root - same result. Also tried 11.04 to no joy.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    42

    Re: Not able to add all ISO files to the start up disk creator

    PROBLEM: I was having problems with random freezing during installation from my flash drive. In Startup Disk Creator, although I could select different iso files in the menu, they didn't appear in the selection bar. 11.04 was always selected, and it always went onto the flash drive, even if I selected 12.04, which I could select before I had downloaded 11.04

    SOLUTION: I moved the iso files out of my download folder with the exception of 9.10. The next time I opened Startup Disk Creator, it was pointing at 9.10 by default. The 9.10 installer running from my flash drive didn't seem to have the random freezing problem.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •