Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problems with multiple desktops installed

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    7

    Problems with multiple desktops installed

    I am pretty new to linux and ubuntu but have really enjoyed it so far. I started out with a vanilla ubuntu install with the unity desktop (currently on 11.10). I actually liked it quite a bit but wanted to try out some other desktops to see the options they offered. So I installed the kde plasma desktop (kububtu) and the gnome 3 shell through the software center. They all seem to work well. Problem is when i return to the unity desktop a lot of the settings have changed or shortcuts no longer work. I did not make any settings changes in the other desktop environments. Basically my compiz settings were no longer working, so i uninstalled it. I still have issues with fonts, application switcher, workspace (only lets me have one) and keyboard shortcuts.

    So my questions are:
    Is there a problem with installing multiple desktops? Is this even a good idea to have multiple installed?

    Is there a way to reset unity to its defaults without having to uninstall the other desktops?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    <--- Over there--->
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Hi! Welcome to Ubuntu Forums!

    You can try this:
    open terminal by pressing the keys below:
    Code:
    Ctrl - Alt - T
    When terminal opens, run the command below to reset Unity:
    Code:
    unity --reset
    To go further, run the command below:
    Code:
    unity --reset-icons
    I don't think it's necessarily a problem installing more than one desktop, but sometimes - when you are first learning your way around - it's good to keep things simple.

    On the other hand, trying lots of new stuff can be a fun learning adventure (depending on one's definition of fun)

    JCC
    Last edited by Jay Car; December 9th, 2011 at 04:50 AM. Reason: edited typos
    The scientific theory I like best is that the rings of Saturn are composed entirely of lost airline luggage.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Thanks Jay for the response, i tried the reset and I guess unity got uninstalled somehow. So apt-get unity and bam I am back in action. Everything is back to normal, whew what a relief.

    Now only one minor thing left, when I boot my computer i get the kubuntu splash screen instead of standard ubuntu splash screen, any ideas how to get that back?

    Thanks
    Last edited by abrand9; December 9th, 2011 at 05:41 AM. Reason: grammer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Quote Originally Posted by abrand9 View Post

    Now only one minor thing left, when I boot my computer i get the kubuntu splash screen instead of standard ubuntu splash screen, any ideas how to get that back?

    Thanks
    Code:
    sudo update-alternatives --config default.plymouth

    Choose...
    Code:
    /lib/plymouth/themes/ubuntu-logo/ubuntu-logo.plymouth

    Then run...
    Code:
    sudo update-initramfs -u

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Beans
    57

    Question Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Would installing XFCE, Gnome-classic, and possibly even LXDE on top of Unity, KDE, and Gnome3 add anymore complexity? I'm kind of excited for 12.04, so long as I never have to use Unity which is why I'd like to have many alternatives at disposal.

    Abrand9, did you have any problems with different login managers from various sessions? I've heard reports of multiple loading bars in some instances. Any other issues you've noticed when switching sessions?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Quote Originally Posted by amhainen View Post
    Would installing XFCE, Gnome-classic, and possibly even LXDE on top of Unity, KDE, and Gnome3 add anymore complexity? I'm kind of excited for 12.04, so long as I never have to use Unity which is why I'd like to have many alternatives at disposal.

    Abrand9, did you have any problems with different login managers from various sessions? I've heard reports of multiple loading bars in some instances. Any other issues you've noticed when switching sessions?
    Haven't noticed any issues except Unity's AppMenu showing in gnome shell sometimes,
    which can be easily fixed
    Have gnome-shell Unity and xfce installed.
    Can switch between gnome-shell and Unity using gnome-shell --replace
    or compiz --replace

    Quote Originally Posted by abrand9 View Post
    Is there a way to reset unity to its defaults without having to uninstall the other desktops?
    This command will reset unity to defaults.
    Code:
    gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/compiz-1 && gconftool-2 --type=list --list-type=string --set /apps/compiz-1/general/screen0/options/active_plugins [core,bailer,detection,composite,opengl,compiztoolbox,decor,grid,move,resize,mousepoll,regex,snap,gnomecompat,place,imgpng,vpswitch,animation,wall,workarounds,fade,session,expo,ezoom,unityshell] && compiz --replace & disown
    Give it time to run and if it doesn't reload properly run...
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Last edited by stinkeye; December 9th, 2011 at 01:54 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    7

    Re: Problems with multiple desktops installed

    Quote Originally Posted by amhainen View Post
    Abrand9, did you have any problems with different login managers from various sessions? I've heard reports of multiple loading bars in some instances. Any other issues you've noticed when switching sessions?
    I have not had any problems yet, but I have only had all the DE's installed for a couple days and have not done much tweaking yet. Switching between DE's has been easy and painless, just log off and log back in. There may be an another method as stinkeye was getting at previously. Ubuntu's standard login manager just took control so i really didn't see much change except for all the different login options of course. Just a note, when i installed the gnome shell, gnome classic was included with the gnome 3 package for me.


    Thanks stinkeye for all your help.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •