Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Darktable unable to import pictures

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    6

    Darktable unable to import pictures

    I have installed darkroom 1.0.4-0pmjdebruijn1~natty on my ubuntu natty 11.04.
    it was working fine but suddenly one day i saw it's unable to import pictures. Whenever I browse to an image in import window and click on open or double click on picture, the darktable freezes. After clicking the close button multiple times i get this prompt "The window darktable is not responding" with 'cancel' and 'Force quit' options.

    Even for already imported pictures in lighttable, it says 'working..' when I try to open it but the picture never opens in darkroom.


    when i run with cache i get following:

    $ darktable -d cache
    [image_cache] has 262144 entries
    [mipmap_cache_init] cache has 2048 entries for mip 0 ( 156.97 MB).
    [mipmap_cache_init] cache has 512 entries for mip 1 ( 156.95 MB).
    [mipmap_cache_init] cache has 128 entries for mip 2 ( 156.94 MB).
    [mipmap_cache_init] cache has 32 entries for mip 3 ( 156.94 MB).
    [mipmap_cache_init] cache has 8 entries for mip 4 ( 156.94 MB).
    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)


    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)


    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)

    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)


    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)


    [mipmap_cache] level 0 fill 97.11/141.27 MB (68.74% in 1267/2048 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 1 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/512 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 2 fill 0.00/141.25 MB (0.00% in 0/128 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 3 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/32 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level 4 fill 0.00/141.24 MB (0.00% in 0/8 buffers)
    [mipmap_cache] level [full] fill 1/1 slots (100.00% in 1/16 buffers)


    Killed


    I do not understand these cache levels. Do i need to do something with memory settings?

    Current settings:
    mipmap cache : 1000000000
    background threads: 1
    export multiple images: 1

    I have already done complete removal and reinstallation. It seems to me that i was running on older version earlier may be 1.0.3 and started facing problem once 1.0.4 got into distribution. I thought upgrading to 1.0.4 will solve the problem but it didn't.
    Now there is no option to go back to 1.0.3.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    6

    Angry Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    Is this really a tough question? or did I use really bad english?
    i've got more than 100 views on this but no answer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    england
    Beans
    245
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    well i have always found Darktable a little glitchy
    have you posted this request on their site ?

    could you not uninstall and reinstall.
    wish i could be of more help.
    yes i'm a nood



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    Quote Originally Posted by goldshirt9 View Post
    well i have always found Darktable a little glitchy
    have you posted this request on their site ?

    could you not uninstall and reinstall.
    wish i could be of more help.

    thanks
    No i didn't post there, i will do right away.
    You are true, darktable is indeed glitchy but that was the only option i found to substitute my lightroom.

    I have tried complete removal and installation already.

    Do you know about any other program similar to darktable that can be used to enhance photographs? (i mean not like gimp)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    6

    Talking Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    Ah it works now
    My memory settings were incorrect.

    old settings:
    mipmap cache : 1000000000
    background threads: 1
    export multiple images: 1
    Momory limit for tilting:1500

    Current settings:
    mipmap cache : 268435456
    background threads: 1
    export multiple images: 1
    Momory limit for tilting:500


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    england
    Beans
    245
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    unfortunately windows is the best options for various photo software programs.

    at the moment i'm rebuilding my laptop and have no software at the moment on it.

    Am about to play around and install a few to see what their like.
    As i have a Sony camera and the raw format can be a pain, this is the best option I find.
    install and remove at a will.

    you could try to purge darktable files to see if its possible to do a complete fresh install re-install .



    sudo apt-get remove <program>
    yes i'm a nood



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Darktable unable to import pictures

    I have since about 3 years been using Digikam. It is able to open RAW-camera images.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •