Page 24 of 28 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 273

Thread: Sound troubleshooting

  1. #231
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Perhaps try this option in alsa-base.conf:
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=asus-mode3
    Make sure you remove anything else you added and reboot

    Another possibility:
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig
    Last edited by lidex; July 1st, 2014 at 11:31 PM.

  2. #232
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    I'm out of luck.
    None did work. Should i check all models?

    Code:
    ALC66x/67x/892
    ==============
      mario            Chromebook mario model fixup
      asus-mode1        ASUS
      asus-mode2        ASUS
      asus-mode3        ASUS
      asus-mode4        ASUS
      asus-mode5        ASUS
      asus-mode6        ASUS
      asus-mode7        ASUS
      asus-mode8        ASUS
      inv-dmic        Inverted internal mic workaround
      dell-headset-multi    Headset jack, which can also be used as mic-in
    Tried all. With asus-* it gave fallback to default config.

    Here is something more (hwinfo --sound):
    Code:
    10: PCI 1b.0: 0403 Audio device                                 
      [Created at pci.318]
      Unique ID: u1Nb.baJFjQ+W1p7
      SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0
      SysFS BusID: 0000:00:1b.0
      Hardware Class: sound
      Model: "Intel 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller"
      Vendor: pci 0x8086 "Intel Corporation"
      Device: pci 0x27d8 "82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller"
      SubVendor: pci 0x1025 "Acer Incorporated [ALI]"
      SubDevice: pci 0x0255 
      Revision: 0x01
      Driver: "snd_hda_intel"
      Driver Modules: "snd_hda_intel"
      Memory Range: 0xf7e38000-0xf7e3bfff (rw,non-prefetchable)
      IRQ: 41 (1022 events)
      Module Alias: "pci:v00008086d000027D8sv00001025sd00000255bc04sc03i00"
      Driver Info #0:
        Driver Status: snd_hda_intel is active
        Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe snd_hda_intel"
      Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
    Last edited by e-San; July 2nd, 2014 at 12:42 PM.

  3. #233
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    @e-San
    Did you try:
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch
    You do know you need to reboot or reload alsa for each change?
    Then use alsamixer to select the correct sound card and unmute digital out.
    Press <F6> to select the correct soundcard.
    Press <F3> to show playback levels. <F4> selects capture levels [or use <Tab>]
    Use the left/right arrow keys to select and up/down arrow keys to change levels. <M> to mute/unmute.

  4. #234
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Beans
    81
    Distro
    Xubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Checked.

    Yes, i do reboot pc, check dmesg, check aplay -l and check if there is any new control in alsamixer.

    Thanks for Your help!

  5. #235
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Quote Originally Posted by takka360 View Post
    This is what i done and it works fantastic now.

    The first thing you'll have to do is get rid of PulseAudio:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-alsa gnome-alsamixer sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio vlc-plugin-pulse
    Then you'll need to put the following configuration file into your user home directory. Save it as ".asoundrc":
    Code:
    pcm.!default { type plug slave.pcm { type asym playback.pcm { type route slave.pcm "dmix:0" ttable.0.0 0.66 ttable.0.1 0.33 ttable.1.0 0.33 ttable.1.1 0.66 } capture.pcm "hw:0" } }
    Log out and log in again, then open a terminal window and run the following test:

    Code:
    speaker-test -t wav -c 2
    This will play back two sound clips ("front left" and "front right"). You should be able to hear both clips on either channel, with one being slightly louder than the other.
    My audio quit working suddenly. I read around and tried a few things, and this worked. That is, the speaker-test command gave me sound. But when I try to watch a video or test my speakers in the GNOME audio settings GUI, I hear nothing. What should I do?

  6. #236
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    11

    Re: Sound troubleshooting - rhythmbox malfunction

    Found the solution. For some reason, it seems RB's super-secret spy volume was turned all the way down. This is how I solved it: turned on RB, played a file. Then went to sound settings, and there, in the tab "applications", RB had magically appeared, and I could turn the volume up. I have absolutely no idea why it works like this.


    I have this weird problem, which just appeared the other day. (I'm running ubuntu 14.04 LTS on a Lenovo Ideapad, and it's been running smoothly for the few months since I got it.) Until all of a sudden rhythmbox stopped outputting sound.
    - It seems to be playing the mp3:s ok, there's just no actual sound. But only in RB, all my other sound is working ok.
    - The same mp3s played back in e.g. VLC work just fine.
    - Speaker test gives output.
    - aplay -l gives the following output in terminal, but I can't really interpret it.
    aplay -l
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
    Subdevices: 1/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC283 Analog [ALC283 Analog]
    Subdevices: 0/1
    Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

    I'm stumped. Help would be much appreciated.
    Last edited by lookit; August 13th, 2014 at 08:22 PM. Reason: Found the solution

  7. #237
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Holland
    Beans
    344

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Just bought a Toshiba Satellite L50-B-145 and immediatly formatted the drive to get rid of a serious virus called win8.
    Installed ubuntu 12.04, I know there are newer ones, sound worked for a few days, now i got a problem:

    When I start up, I get the drumroll sound, so far so good.
    Then I log in and start up some music, no sound from the speakers?!? I do get sound from the headphones.
    I open > Sound Settings, all seems to be okay here.
    I open Pulseaudio volume control, all seems well here too.
    Opened alsamixer in terminal and all seems well here too...
    When I plug in the headphones I see the change, from (speakers - built in audio) to (Headphones - built in audio), and back when I unplug.

    Some posts on the net suggest its a jack-sensing issue.

    To me it seems that there is some setting that needs fixing...

    Any clues as to why this is? Question me for details if needed.

    THX!
    Last edited by Ashrael; August 19th, 2014 at 02:58 PM.
    "Umuntu ngumuntu ngabanye bantu" - Xhosa saying.
    (People are people because of other people)

  8. #238
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    13,647
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    New hardware and old software is a bad combination. I suggest a fresh install of 14.04.1.
    Please write again if you are still having trouble.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

  9. #239
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Hi!

    Idecided not to open another topic and to write here. So here is my problem. Is there a way to manually configure the bands (for example: bass, trebles and so on) without installing PulseAudio equalizer? I want to do that because the sound coming out from my aduio jack is very muffled when playing a song for example from YouTube? Im sorry if this is not the right place for my question and for my bad english!

    Greetings!

  10. #240
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Rybnik, Poland
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

    Re: Sound troubleshooting

    Hello. I have a little problem on my Lenovo G50-30 laptop with Ubuntu 14.04.1. My HDMI audio output is not listed in sound menu.

    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CX20751/2 Analog [CX20751/2 Analog]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    Last edited by pawe3pl; September 18th, 2014 at 09:48 AM.

Page 24 of 28 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •