Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Question How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Hello.
    I want to change the desktop environment to KDE... how to do that?
    Will doing that affect installed apps?

    Thnx!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    486
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by greendragons View Post
    Hello.
    I want to change the desktop environment to KDE... how to do that?
    Will doing that affect installed apps?

    Thnx!!
    Try

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop
    It will not remove any existing application, only add some of its own like
    Amarok and K3b, and you'll be able to switch from ubuntu to kubuntu anytime on login screen...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    you will also have for example double network managers. everyhtign that is in Ubuntu stays in KDE. to get "pure" KDE try this: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/purekde
    Easy to understand Ubuntu manual with lots of pics: http://ubuntu-manual.org/
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    User friendly disk backup: Redobackup

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by mastablasta View Post
    you will also have for example double network managers. everyhtign that is in Ubuntu stays in KDE. to get "pure" KDE try this: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/purekde
    Im already installing... can i remove gnome after installing KDe desktop... i think shouldn't affect anyway...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by greendragons View Post
    can i remove gnome after installing KDe desktop... i think shouldn't affect anyway...
    You are better off just leaving it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /dev/sda1
    Beans
    352
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    You can of course.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove ubuntu-desktop
    But you should keep it as is, and you'll never know when you might need GNOME again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by greendragons View Post
    Im already installing... can i remove gnome after installing KDe desktop... i think shouldn't affect anyway...

    In the link i posted is the information on how to remove Gnome if you wish to do so or if there are duplicated applications that bother you.
    Easy to understand Ubuntu manual with lots of pics: http://ubuntu-manual.org/
    Do i need antivirus/firewall in linux?
    User friendly disk backup: Redobackup

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by mastablasta View Post
    In the link i posted is the information on how to remove Gnome if you wish to do so or if there are duplicated applications that bother you.
    For a while i'll keep both... and if i feel ok with it i'll probably remove ubuntu desktop.... can i use conky in kde desktop or it's just for gnome....?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    64

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    Thnx!!!
    and that windows7sin link kool lol....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Nelspruit, South Africa
    Beans
    1,415
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: How to change Desktop Environment to KDE

    keep the ubuntu desktop so u can switch in between
    Monitor: LG flatron w1954s 22", mobo: G31-m7 series, CPU: Intel LGA 775 Intel core duo 2 2,66GHZ, RAM: 3GB, GPU: ATI Radeom HD 2400, Storage: 500GB SATA and 80GB IDE, Windows 7 ultimate and Ubuntu

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •