Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: reformat

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    323

    reformat

    Hi

    I recently purchased an ASUS U31s with an intel core 13-2330 m.

    It has windows 7 and two partitions. I would like to remove Windows and install ubuntu and retain two partitions. One for data and one for running the os.

    Can anyone help me?

    I have Ubuntu on the smaller partition. I tried using killdisk to get rid of windows but it is an older version of killdisk so I could not get it to work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Entropy
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: reformat

    Hi,

    From the live cd or usb go to gparted and work from there. Backup your data if any.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Beans
    1,664
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: reformat

    You get this option in a standard install. There will probably be three options that come up:

    1. Install Ubuntu alongside Windows
    2. Install Ubuntu on the whole disk
    3. Something else

    If you choose the third option, you get to partition the disk however you want. It will show you the existing partitions and you can clear those out and use those. Or you can remove those partitions completely and start from scratch.

    For OS and data partitions, you'd create three partitions:

    1. Root partition, ext4 filesystem, mounted as /
    2. Data partition, ext4 filesystem, mounted as /home
    3. Swap partition

    12-20GB is a decent size for a root partition (a 12.04 vanilla install uses 4-5GB but then there's room for more programs). A good rule of thumb for swap is twice your memory size up to a a total of 4GB. If you want the machine to hibernate, the swap needs to be larger than your memory. Then allocate the rest to your data partition.

    It feels awkward the first time you do it but it's quite a simple process.

    Obviously everything that was on the disk is lost when you do this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Airstrip One
    Beans
    327

    Re: reformat

    I'd recommend creating a 3rd partition for Swap (virtual memory.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    323

    Re: reformat

    Quote Originally Posted by r-senior View Post
    You get this option in a standard install. There will probably be three options that come up:

    1. Install Ubuntu alongside Windows
    2. Install Ubuntu on the whole disk
    3. Something else

    If you choose the third option, you get to partition the disk however you want. It will show you the existing partitions and you can clear those out and use those. Or you can remove those partitions completely and start from scratch.

    For OS and data partitions, you'd create three partitions:

    1. Root partition, ext4 filesystem, mounted as /
    2. Data partition, ext4 filesystem, mounted as /home
    3. Swap partition

    12-20GB is a decent size for a root partition (a 12.04 vanilla install uses 4-5GB but then there's room for more programs). A good rule of thumb for swap is twice your memory size up to a a total of 4GB. If you want the machine to hibernate, the swap needs to be larger than your memory. Then allocate the rest to your data partition.

    It feels awkward the first time you do it but it's quite a simple process.

    Obviously everything that was on the disk is lost when you do this.
    Thanks!! I will give that a try!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    323

    Re: reformat

    Hi

    I still can't get it to boot from my external DVD burner. Is there a way I can get at that by pressing one of the F keys on start up? I really have to get rid of Windows 7. It is a disappointing product.

    Thanks for your help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Entropy
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: reformat

    Did you select dvd in the bios as the first option to boot from.

    Regards.

    PS. Did not realize it was an external dvd. In my case is f1 but I don´t know your particular model..
    Last edited by Lemuriano; April 21st, 2012 at 09:54 PM.
    Cogito Ergo Sum

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    323

    Re: reformat

    It is an external samsung SE-S084. How would I get into the bios? By pressing F8 or F9?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Entropy
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: reformat

    Sorry I haven´t work with an external HDD.
    Cogito Ergo Sum

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    323

    Re: reformat

    No problem, I manged to get to the bios and got rid of that horrible windows 7 however, when I click on the file folder, it only shows what is in the one partician. How do I get it to show that other two particians.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •