Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No playback or live sound when using JACK

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    27

    No playback or live sound when using JACK

    I've finally got JACK set up and appears to be working fine. I used these two videos to help.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2gPq...eature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMz6fDGBnA4

    Anyway, the mixer in Ardour, tuner in rakarrak, etc, all show that there is a signal coming through from my USB microphone. It doesn't look like there is any latency or anything. For some reason though, even though everything is connected to (system: playback 1) and (system playback 2) it still does not produce sound through my speakers or headphones if I plug them in.

    Please help, I have been trying to use programs other than audacity for recording my guitar, or even effects in realtime.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    Give us output from
    Code:
    aplay -l
    Code:
    cat .jackdrc

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    For aplay -l
    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: default [C-Media USB Audio Device   ], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
      Subdevices: 0/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    and for cat .jackdrc
    Code:
    /usr/bin/jackd -t2000 -dalsa -dhw:1 -r44100 -p128 -n3
    (C-Media USB Audio Device is my microphone btw, no idea why it shows as a playback device)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    Looks like you are using hw:1 as duplex. You need to separate capture and playback devices, by changeing playback to use hw:0 and capture to use hw:1.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    What you just said really seemed to make alot of sense, but I just tried changing to capture only which didn't work so here's a picture of what I've got at the moment.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    If you set just capture you can't have any playback, just recording.
    You need to set duplex. And than to set separate cards for capture and playback.
    Maybe you should first set to use onboard card for both. If that works, then set captureing to usb mic.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    The only way JACK runs without any xruns is if "Interface" is set to hw:1. If I set "Input Device" to the mic aswell, but leave "Output Device" as default, it will start but still no sound(as would be expected). But if I change "output device" to anything else, "interface" will not be able to be chosen.

    What I can choose from for interface, input, and/or output:
    HDA ATI SB
    STAC92xx Analog
    C-Media USB Audio Device
    USB Audio
    (default)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    1,175
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    I've created similar setup as yours using usb webcam which has microphone on it. Jack is running fine with this options

    Code:
    /usr/bin/jackd -dalsa -r48000 -p128 -n3 -S -D -Chw:1,0 -Phw:0,0 -i2 -o2
    One can see here that I've set:
    periods 3 (because of usb device)
    duplex
    capture hw:1,0
    plaback hw:0,0
    input channels 2
    output channels 2

    When you specify input and output device, the interface field is greyed out. So it is not important what have you selected there.
    In your setup you should select:
    hw:1,0 for capture (USB Audio)
    hw:0,0 for playback (STAC92xx Analog)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    27

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    I just tried that and it just says, "Failed to start JACK" and I tried fiddling with the other things like the input and output channels, but everything but what I originally had causes JACK to fail.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    1,540

    Re: No playback or live sound when using JACK

    Quote Originally Posted by Tallguitarguy View Post
    The only way JACK runs without any xruns is if "Interface" is set to hw:1. If I set "Input Device" to the mic aswell, but leave "Output Device" as default, it will start but still no sound(as would be expected). But if I change "output device" to anything else, "interface" will not be able to be chosen.

    What I can choose from for interface, input, and/or output:
    HDA ATI SB
    STAC92xx Analog
    C-Media USB Audio Device
    USB Audio
    (default)
    Hi, I have had qjackctl 'Interface' grayed out for years. Choosing your Input Device and Output device are the important part. Don't
    worry about xruns until you have established the proper connections.
    I would follow jejeman suggestion to choose duplex, and get the motherboard sound working in and out, then configure the usb mic input. I would also google that device to see if it is highly regarded among users of other operating systems.
    Cheers

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •