Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    Got a new, cheap, but should-be-fully-64bit-capable Acer laptop, w/ an Arrandale CPU and Ironlake graphics, and 4gb ram. Installed 64bit Ubuntu (came with Windows 7 but didn't note whether it saw all the ram), but Ubuntu only reports 3.5gb of ram once installed. If I boot into the firmware it says there's 4gb installed, with 128mb reserved for graphics.

    I can't imagine Ubuntu is reserving 512mb for graphics? There's no option in the firmware to 'remap memory' or enable 64bit support or anything like that; given the age of the laptop (brand new; it's a 7739z) I can't imagine there's a 32bit limitation in the motherboard?

    My best guess then is there's some 32bit-only driver holding things up. If this is the case does anyone know how to determine exactly what the culprit is?

    This isn't a big deal from a performance POV, I'm mostly just curious

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    4,332
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    Run Terminal, and enter these commands:
    sudo lshw >myconfig.txt
    gedit myconfig.txt

    It might shed some light on the memory allocation.

    My laptop, running 64-bit Ubuntu 11.10, has 3 GB of memory, and uses shared memory for the ATI video, 16 MB according to lshw. However, top says the total memory is 2,825,744K, or 2,893,561,856 bytes. About 300 million bytes seem to have disappeared.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    OK, think I figured it out. The integrated graphics are using 256mb, and for whatever reason the gnome settings panel aggressively rounds down the ~3.72gb to 3.5gb ram under system info.
    Last edited by stewacide; November 5th, 2011 at 09:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    46

    Re: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    What is the output of

    uname -m

    Are you sure you are running 64-bit? Also, what is the output of

    cat /proc/meminfo

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    4,332
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    Interesting! Some memory has definitely "disappeared," on both my laptop and my desktop.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Only 3.5gb ram on 64bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by robvas View Post
    What is the output of

    uname -m

    Are you sure you are running 64-bit? Also, what is the output of

    cat /proc/meminfo
    Definitely using 64bit. Other apps report the correct 3.721gb of ram, it's simply the gnome system info panel that threw me off. Dunno' why it rounds so wildly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •