Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 229

Thread: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU and Patches

    Quote Originally Posted by Toxicity999
    they don't archive old snapshots apparently so update 2006-06-04_23 to 2006-06-05_23 and tomorrow 2006-06-06_23 I would assume if you don't get around to it tonight. Sorry if someone else answered this I didn't get a chance to read all posts.
    It is fixed in the new version. Remove the current .sh file, and follow the instructions in the post again
    Technology is dominated by two types of people: those who understand what they do not manage, and those who manage what they do not understand.

    Installing QEMU, KQEMU, DHCP Fix, and Mouse Fix (Dapper & Breezy Only)

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Added a basic tutorial on how to use QEMU to the main post.
    Technology is dominated by two types of people: those who understand what they do not manage, and those who manage what they do not understand.

    Installing QEMU, KQEMU, DHCP Fix, and Mouse Fix (Dapper & Breezy Only)

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sintra, Portugal
    Beans
    835

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by andrejkw
    Hmm.. that doesn't look really great ^^

    I just re-uploaded a new version which includes better kernel detection and added support for AMD64. Hopefully that'll do it.

    Just delete the current .sh file, and follow the instructions in my post again to download and run the latest version of the script.

    Code:
    rm install_qemu.sh

    Ok, now it runs great. Thanks a lot!

    Just a question: when I run qemu with the option -kernel-kqemu, with gives me the following error:

    qemu: invalid option -- '-kernel-kqemu'

    Any ideas why?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by henriquemaia
    Ok, now it runs great. Thanks a lot!

    Just a question: when I run qemu with the option -kernel-kqemu, with gives me the following error:

    qemu: invalid option -- '-kernel-kqemu'

    Any ideas why?
    Hmm, did the script finish running successfully? It looks like the KQEMU support is not compiled. Can you tell me which version of Ubuntu you are using?
    Technology is dominated by two types of people: those who understand what they do not manage, and those who manage what they do not understand.

    Installing QEMU, KQEMU, DHCP Fix, and Mouse Fix (Dapper & Breezy Only)

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sintra, Portugal
    Beans
    835

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by andrejkw
    Hmm, did the script finish running successfully? It looks like the KQEMU support is not compiled. Can you tell me which version of Ubuntu you are using?
    Dapper 64bit:

    Distributor ID: Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 6.06 LTS
    Release: 6.06
    Codename: dapper

    2.6.15-23-amd64-k8 kernel

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by henriquemaia
    Dapper 64bit:

    Distributor ID: Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 6.06 LTS
    Release: 6.06
    Codename: dapper

    2.6.15-23-amd64-k8 kernel
    Did you let the the compilation script finish before running QEMU?
    Technology is dominated by two types of people: those who understand what they do not manage, and those who manage what they do not understand.

    Installing QEMU, KQEMU, DHCP Fix, and Mouse Fix (Dapper & Breezy Only)

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sintra, Portugal
    Beans
    835

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by andrejkw
    Did you let the the compilation script finish before running QEMU?
    Everything went ok first time. I have runned the script again, since I change some default configurations for checkinstall and the result was:

    Installing KQEMU...
    Loading KQEMU Module...

    Congratulations! QEMU and KQEMU has been successfully Installed!
    Do not forget to run QEMU with the '-kernel-kqemu' parameter!
    For more information visit: http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu
    Thank you for using this script!


    No errors whasoever. But loading qemu with -kernel-kqemu still gives the same error output.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    28
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by henriquemaia
    Everything went ok first time. I have runned the script again, since I change some default configurations for checkinstall and the result was:

    Installing KQEMU...
    Loading KQEMU Module...

    Congratulations! QEMU and KQEMU has been successfully Installed!
    Do not forget to run QEMU with the '-kernel-kqemu' parameter!
    For more information visit: http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu
    Thank you for using this script!


    No errors whasoever. But loading qemu with -kernel-kqemu still gives the same error output.

    Hmm, can you tell em what exactly did you change in checkinstall?
    Technology is dominated by two types of people: those who understand what they do not manage, and those who manage what they do not understand.

    Installing QEMU, KQEMU, DHCP Fix, and Mouse Fix (Dapper & Breezy Only)

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    521
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    chris@chris-desktop:~$ qemu-img create windows.img 10G
    bash: qemu-img: command not found

    It said it installed everything fine, except KQemu, which never seems to work for me.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Sintra, Portugal
    Beans
    835

    Re: Installing QEMU, KQEMU, and DHCP Patch

    Quote Originally Posted by andrejkw
    Hmm, can you tell em what exactly did you change in checkinstall?
    I Just adjusted the architecture, since the packages X86_64 fail to install for some unknown reason to me. I just put there amd64 and checkinstall finishes ok.

    This is weird, since the module is present and loaded.

    lsmod gives me:

    Module Size Used by
    kqemu 166920 0

Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •