Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    5

    Lightbulb Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Hi there,

    I'm new to Ubuntu.

    I have installed the previous version of Ubuntu Workstation fine, on a PC and I have installed all prerequisites for Magento. It ran perfectly.

    Now I have updated to 11.10 and initialy all seemed well. I can run the site perfectly from all the PC's in the network, backend and frontend work just fine.

    The only problem that I have since 11.10 is that a part of Magento: ConnectManager (used for installing components) fails to run, stating: 'Cannot connect to host: localhost'

    This happens on all PC's, even the Ubuntu Workstation.

    I have been milling around this problem for a couple of days now (since 11.10 was released), but what ever I do: No results.

    Can anyone help me past this hurdle?

    Thanks in advance! John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Beans
    459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Can you type:

    Code:
    ifconfig
    at the terminal and post the output?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Diametric View Post
    Can you type:

    Code:
    ifconfig
    at the terminal and post the output?
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:85:f4:43:16
    inet addr:192.168.10.22 Bcast:192.168.10.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::211:85ff:fef4:4316/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:157640 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5032 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:59804172 (59.8 MB) TX bytes:1365005 (1.3 MB)
    Interrupt:17

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:645 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:645 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:139907 (139.9 KB) TX bytes:139907 (139.9 KB)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lesotho
    Beans
    53
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    can you ping localhost or 127.0.0.1?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Devi1903 View Post
    can you ping localhost or 127.0.0.1?
    On the Ubuntu workstation I can do both without loss.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Beans
    459
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Hmmm...I don't see anything goofy with the output to ifconffig - I just upgraded to 11.10 too, and I'm curious to see if anyone else comments on this? Have you check the documentation for the app you're running to see if there could be any info there?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Diametric View Post
    Hmmm...I don't see anything goofy with the output to ifconffig - I just upgraded to 11.10 too, and I'm curious to see if anyone else comments on this? Have you check the documentation for the app you're running to see if there could be any info there?
    I have looked into that. Magento is a webshop application that did work on the previous version. I'll go through it again to see if there is something wrong there... but I cane to the conclusion that the message that I got was not a Magento message but an OS related one.

    Are there any other tests that we could do?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    5

    Re: Since update to 11.10 Localhost problems

    Hi!

    Well I found the problem!

    As it turned out, the proftd configuration was invalid, causing the FTP service to be down, this lead to the message.

    Had to delete the proftpd configuration folder and files, folowing that I reinstalled the proftpd package.

    Now it works again.

    Thanks for your help, it got me thinking again!

    John

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •