Thread: Problems running Ubuntu 11.10

Beans

Problems running Ubuntu 11.10

Hi there,

I've been trying to get Ubuntu up and running on my Laptop (Toshiba Satellite with HP pavillion monitor) and don't seem to be having much joy.

Recently, my hard drive developed problems, but I was able to run Knoppix live CD to extract all my work, but can only run it in vesa mode- anything else and i get black and white stripes. Since then, my drive has been wiped and I don't want to put Win XP back on it if I can help it.

Now, I want to install Ubuntu and have managed to use the USB boot up to get to the options screen, but I can't get it to load without the black and white stripes. I tried looking at the help options, but whenever I tried boot: rescue or something like that, it just said something about the kernels.

I am a relative newbie to linux and if anyone can lend a hand it would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks,
    Rich

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Problems running Ubuntu 11.10

Hi

Do you get the stripes on the laptop screen and the monitor? Does it happen if you unplug the monitor before booting the live CD?
    Last edited by roger_1960; October 29th, 2011 at 10:40 AM.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by roger_1960 View Post
    Hi

Do you get the stripes on the laptop screen and the monitor? Does it happen if you unplug the monitor before booting the live CD?
    Hi Roger,

I should have said that the screen on my Laptop is broken, which is why I've been using the monitor.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

Beans

Thanks for that Tartalo - I tried the suggestions in the guide, but still no joy - even tried using Ubuntu 10.10 that I had on CD. I keep getting so far before it crashes - I got to the desktop once but the whole thing froze.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Quote Originally Posted by RichDavey View Post