Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    Wondering if anyone would know why I now have a black box around my Cairo Dock. It just started happening a few days ago.
    As you can see from the picture, it stays on top of everything. I have compiz along with Emerald and clicking on Reload Window Manager
    does nothing.
    I have generic Lucid 10.04 LTS.

    Cairo-Dock version 2.1.3-10-lucid-0ubuntu1 (Lucid)
    Compiz version 1:0.8.4-0ubuntu15.3 (lucid updates)
    1:0.8.4-0ubuntu15 (lucid)

    It has been so long since I have messed with it I don't remember much about the settings but, other than the black box I cannot switch to Emerald.

    I also just noticed that I cannot ALT+TAB between windows so it's like the windows manager is messed up.
    I went through this before and tried uninstalling and re-installing and ended up doing a clean install to solve the problem.

    I do not really want to do that again.

    Thanks for anyone's help

    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    the black box is due to compositing not being turned on.

    if you have ccsm (compiz config settings manager) use it to turn on compositing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Kansas City, KS
    Beans
    1,319
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    If both Alt+Tab and compositing are failing, that does point to a window manager problem. If you check your System Monitor, I think you'll find that Compiz isn't running at all; since your window title bars are present, you're probably running Metacity, which (prior to Gnome 3) doesn't composite by default like Compiz does. Compositing can be enabled in Metacity with a quick command, but you'll probably want to work out the Compiz problem instead.

    Confirm that Compiz isn't running through the System Monitor, then try running

    Code:
    setsid compiz --replace
    in a terminal and reporting what errors are kicked back.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    I could not find compositing in ccsm.

    I looked in System Monitor and compiz is not running. But, metacity is running.
    Here is the output:

    Code:
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ setsid compiz --replace
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ compiz (core) - Fatal: No valid GL extensions string found.
    compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
    
    Launching fallback window manager
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ Window manager warning: Received a NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP message from a broken (outdated) client who sent a 0 timestamp
    Window manager warning: Received a NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP message from a broken (outdated) client who sent a 0 timestamp
    Window manager warning: Received a NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP message from a broken (outdated) client who sent a 0 timestamp
    Window manager warning: Received a NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP message from a broken (outdated) client who sent a 0 timestamp
    Window manager warning: Received a NET_CURRENT_DESKTOP message from a broken (outdated) client who sent a 0 timestamp
    I cannot even see Cairo-dock in the Applications menu any more. Although both are installed according to SPM.

    Thanks!
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    Still no go. I did find this out when I killed cairo-dock and started it back up in terminal:

    Code:
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ killall cairo-dock
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ cairo-dock -o
    warning :  (cairo-dock-opengl.c:cairo_dock_initialize_opengl_backend:171)  
      couldn't find an appropriate visual, trying to get one without Stencil buffer
    (it may cause some little deterioration in the rendering) ...
    warning :  (cairo-dock-opengl.c:cairo_dock_initialize_opengl_backend:282)  
      GLX version too old (1.2).
    Cairo-Dock needs at least GLX 1.3. Indirect rendering will be toggled on/off as a workaround.
    
     ============================================================================ 
        Cairo-Dock version: 2.1.3-10-lucid
        Compiled date:  Apr 22 2010 01:10:48
        Running with OpenGL: 1
     ============================================================================
    I looked in SPM and did not see GLX. It says I have 1.2 and it needs 1.3
    I'm trying to keep this install generic LTS Lucid with the exception of the video driver.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    a puddle in Manchester
    Beans
    9,208
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    In a terminal run
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Are any errors reported?
    MacBook Pro 10,1 retina

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    Quote Originally Posted by Quackers View Post
    In a terminal run
    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Are any errors reported?

    Yes, here it is. The screen went blank for a second when I entered that.

    Code:
    cavsfan@cavsfan-desktop:~$ compiz --replace
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No valid GL extensions string found.
    compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
    compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0
    
    Launching fallback window manager
    Thanks Quackers!
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    Sorry for bugging you all. I started to look into GLX and found that was involved with the video driver.
    I installed the latest nvidia driver 285.05.09 and the problem is now fixed.

    Thanks!
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    hurray!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Black box around Cairo Dock - Compiz

    Meant to say thanks to Copper Bezel and Quackers for providing the compiz commands.
    I didn't know that compiz was not running nor did I know that there was a GLX error which led me to
    my video driver.


    Everything is looking great now.
    Check Java Version | Install Java via WEB UPD8 PPA
    Creating a Custom Maintenance Free GRUB2 Screen Community Wiki
    Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.84Ghz. 4.0GB DDR2 RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GT

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •