Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Should I upgrade? Lubuntu? My Laptop is too slow...

Beans

Should I upgrade? Lubuntu? My Laptop is too slow...

Hi.
    I'm a Ubuntu Newbie and need your help to boost my Computer.

At first let me explain what I got:

Maxdata Pro 8100X
    Pentium M 1.7 GHz - Centrino
    RAM 512 MB -
    Harddrive 60 GB
    Graphics Mobility Radeon 9600

I currently run Ubuntu 11.04 with the latest updates and got WinXP on a second partition, but I haven't booted it for at least a month - because XP is so slow you simply get frustrated. (I would even delete it now, because Ubuntu replaces it completly)

I'm using a external Harddrive with all my music and movies on, because the internal one is so small. I also use the Vodafone Mobile Broadband USB Stick K3770 which gives me 2Gig of traffic at day and another 2 gig in the night. (I run all my update at night, so I can really use the other stuff at day). I prevously had problem with that modem but it's sorted out. (For furhter Information look at that thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...t=k3770&page=7)

So now that you understand my situation here are my problems:

My computer is terrible slow. I know the simpliest solution would be to get a new one, but I haven't got the money so this is out of question.
    The thing that disturbes me is that I cant browse the web with Firefox and listen to music with Banshee at the same time. It always freezes the music when load a new page and Banshees is reacting to everthing VERY slowly. (Klick - 10 secs wait - react)

Now I was thinking following things:
    Would 11.10 make it faster? (Because of Unity 2D?)

Would Lubuntu fit better for my system?

Is there a lighter and faster music player? (got a BIG music collection and I think banshees is troubled with that)

Would Chrome (Chromium?) be faster than Firefox?