Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: raid to windows virtualisation?

Beans

Question raid to windows virtualisation?

Hi there,

I'm trying to find an economic way to have loads and loads of hard drive storage space for a windows installation.. Could it be possible to RAID5/6 a bunch of 2TB drives and pass it as a humoungus single drive to a virtual Windows installation? I'm pretty new at this so I might miss a few points

Beans

Re: raid to windows virtualisation?

If your goal is simply loads and loads of hard drive storage, then you might want to consider logical volume management instead of RAID 5/6. In RAID 5/6, you'd actually lose some physical storage space due to parity data.

Otherwise, you could span a logical volume in Windows across an entire RAID 5/6 array if you wanted to.

Beans

Well maybe I asked too fast... I meant loads and loads of hard drive space with a minimum of data security / redudancy in case one or more hard drives fail. Last time I played with LVM if a drive went down the whole thing went with it.

Beans

Okay, then RAID 5/6 would be better. We have a RAID 5 setup on one of our servers and it just looks like one big drive. Just set up the RAID before you install Windows and you're good to go.

You mentioned economic in your first post. Are you thinking software RAID or do you already have parts for a hardware RAID?

Beans

For now I'm only thinking of filling a standard pc's pci slots with SATA controler cards and let Linux do the rest. It's gona be ugly at first but I have to start somewhere.

What about growth? Lets say I manage to setup a 10TB RAID5 then next year I want to add a few new drives? Will that be feasible without losing all the data ?

And how will windows see and manage such a huge partition? Will ntfs be able to handle it, or will I have to switch to GPT (whatever that is) ?

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Error403 View Post