Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    6

    Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    Hi all:

    I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 with Gnome Fallback Session and Compiz. I also have the cube active, and it works quite well, except for this:

    When I rotate the cube, it rotates smoothly, but when the movement ends, there's a glitch, a fast flash with the old desktop, which appears and disappears fast.

    Also, the app in the new desktop looses the focus, so I must click again with the mouse in the window to gain it again. This is particularly annoying when editing a text.

    Finally, when I open from another program a web page in Firefox, in Ubuntu 10.04 it switched automatically to Firefox, rotating the cube to the face where it was. Now this doesn't happen.

    I tried to disable the cube, but CompizConfig Settings fails with a core dump when I try to do it.

    I'm using Ubuntu 11.10 64bit, with the propietary driver for ATI cards.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by raster; October 18th, 2011 at 11:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    14,361

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    Problem here also, actually so bad that i had to go back to wall which I'm sorta getting used.
    This is one current bug on
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...iz/+bug/876198

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    111
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    Yup, confirmed this as well.. Looks like we have to kiss the desktop cube goodbye, easily the most useful tool in compiz, until this is fixed..

    I have unity completely removed and am in Gnome Classic and it still is here..

    This entire update is a disaster, I'm this close to moving over to any other distro than ubuntu because of crap like this. Give us option conical, don't force your new, worthless crap interface down our throats. If we wanted that we would be windows/mac users.


    UPDATE: I found that if you move the window with ctrl-alt-shift left/right and then when yhou get it where you want it quickly let go of shift and just rotate the cube somewhere else the window will stay in place
    Last edited by unc0nn3ct3d; October 19th, 2011 at 05:58 AM.
    Do Daemons Dream of Electric Sleep() ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    3

    Unhappy Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    same problem here, 11.10 64bit, nvidia-current, fallback session and compiz.
    moving window to another workspace makes rest of the windows blink for a second (even though they are on different workspace)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    32
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Unhappy Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    I have all of these problems as well. It's pretty frustrating.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    217

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    Looks like I'm not even going to attempt it, just stick to the desktop wall

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    Hi the glitch is actually that the focus goes back to the original window and doesn't stay on the first window of the active cube side.

    The anoying thing is when I use some shortcut it actually is executed on the non visible pane of the cube and with the non visible window. Hopefully someone knows how to fix this.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Beans
    5

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    BTW maybe related but moving a window to another cube face doesn't work either the window is pulled back to the starting face. Perhaps a general change in passing the active desktop wall and starting desktop wall of the cube when executing these functions?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    228

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    This is still happening to me!!!
    Cy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Illinois (United States)
    Beans
    440
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Compiz cube has a glitch when rotates, and looses window focus

    yeah, I too am experiencing this.

    Spent hours messing with different settings in compiz, and video drivers.

    Theres got to be some sortof workaround?
    (other than, not using desktop cube)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •