Thread: How to delete Redundant Boot List Option ?

Beans

How to delete Redundant Boot List Option ?

I love Linux & Wubi because I can install, uninstall, & reinstall whenever I please. Indeed, I love this 1st week after the new release because I get that MAD Scientist Feeling every time - I am become like Shiva, the Destroyer of Worlds !!!

However, I'm also a newbie who noticed there's an extra option for Ubuntu on my boot list which lingers even after I uninstall my last installation. I'm especially concerned because I've noticed a growing momentary hesitation during the boot which I suspect is related to this lingering extra. The hesitation is attended by a momentary purple screen then a quick black-out then an increasingly hesitant purple-with-tiny-white-dots screen before the login prompt finally pops up.

I've ran diagnostic tests on both Ubu11.10 & Win7 with no ill report. I suspect this isn't the 1st time some of the more experienced among you have heard or dealt with this. My big worry is my 64bit Intel T4400 which has minimal capacity for higher functions (?!?).

*R*S*V*P*
    Last edited by mglennpooh; October 23rd, 2011 at 12:44 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: How to delete Redundant Boot List Option ?

Should boot the latest of kernels installed. Keep at least 2 of them so if one does not boot the other one will.

Can get rid of in synaptic:
    Type the kernel you want to get rid of in search window of synaptic and it will give you image to remove.

The extra kernels have no effect whatsoever on anything, the one you choose to boot with just is in use
    and the others are just there as backups.
    Remember hence where you come and pass it down.
    Ubuntu Forums member #899097 and Ubuntu Member:

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Quote Originally Posted by garvinrick4 View Post
    Should boot the latest of kernels installed. Keep at least 2 of them so if one does not boot the other one will.