Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Beans
    1

    Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    Dear All,
    I am having overscan problems with my setup. I've searched many times these forums but was unable to find a procedure that could solve this.

    My setup is:
    i5 2500k Sandy Bridge
    720p capable Samsung 32" LCD TV (old enough so I can't change the setup from this side).
    Ubuntu 64 bits 11.10

    The funny thing is that I can use an XBOX360 via HDMI (and same cable) and works OK at 720p.
    I've even tried modifying TV setup from the Service Configuration that's accessed thru a code but with no luck.

    Do you know what else can I try?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    11

    Re: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    I have same PC configuration (I5 and Sandy bridge video ) and Samsung P24FHD 24" 1080P capable, and with HDMI connection with max res, I see with very bad quality.

    ironically if I use VGA max resolution is beautifull.

    Rob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    Same here. HP Compaq 8200 Elite with Intel Sandy Bridge, Ubuntu 12.04, and:

    • HP Compaq monitor, HDMI (with DVI-adapter): 1920x1200 resolution OK
    • Philips 47" Full HD, HDMI: 1280x720 resolution OK
    • Philips 47" Full HD, HDMI: 1920x1080 resolution very ugly, looks like anti-aliasing is off or something
    • Philips 47" Full HD, VGA: 1920x1080 resolution OK

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    2

    Re: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    Quote Originally Posted by vessep View Post
    • Philips 47" Full HD, HDMI: 1920x1080 resolution very ugly, looks like anti-aliasing is off or something
    Issue solved and had nothing to do with Ubuntu. Tried first with another TV and another computer (with nVidia ION) just to notice no change.

    Then found an option from the TVs picture settings named "PC Mode". After enabling that the picture through HDMI was excellent.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    81

    Re: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    What video card do you have?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    11

    Re: Samsung + Sandy Bridge + HDMI TV + Overscan

    Quote Originally Posted by vessep View Post
    Issue solved and had nothing to do with Ubuntu. Tried first with another TV and another computer (with nVidia ION) just to notice no change.

    Then found an option from the TVs picture settings named "PC Mode". After enabling that the picture through HDMI was excellent.
    yes I confirm this. the settings are to be found on TV not on PC.
    My samsung now is working well.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •