Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    I switched from Gnome to XFCE yesterday. I was happily surprised when on 'launching' Gourmet Recipe Manager, the program ran perfectly. Today, the Ribbon Bar with the commands is missing. Gourmet runs, but displays no ability to enter new recipes, save new recipes, change Preferences, and all other available commands.

    What gives? If I knew XFCE better, I wouldn't have to ask this question so broadly.
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Try pressing Alt+F2 and running the following command:
    Code:
    xfwm4 --replace
    This will restart the window manager, which may have crashed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    As give, the command does not work it's magic.

    Please see attached screenshots to help me clarify the problem.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Is xfce4-panel running? At the command prompt, run the following command:
    Code:
    ps -ef | grep xfce4-panel | grep -v grep
    If its not running, then start it.
    Code:
    xfce4-panel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ ps -ef | grep xfce4-panel | grep -v grep

    returned:

    mark 1685 1666 0 08:31 ? 00:00:12 xfce4-panel --display :0.0 --sm-client-id 2e5e5b8ae-5b9e-44c8-90fa-571312f51ab7

    As I have used Xfce for 48 hours I don't know what the above means, but on doing your 2nd line:

    the terminal output is:

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ xfce4-panel
    xfce4-panel: There is already a running instance


    so, I guess that's a YES.
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; October 14th, 2011 at 09:59 PM. Reason: typo
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Is the menu bar missing for just this program, or for all programs?

    Try opening a terminal window and running gourmet from there:
    Code:
    gourmet
    Do any error messages come up on the terminal window?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Is that a trick question?

    Gedit has icons for file & printing operations, but no ribbon bar menu.

    Google's Picass 3 - has File - Edit - View - Folder as a selectable menu.

    LibreOffice has a ribbon menu.

    Gourmet, run from a terminal, upon closing returned:


    mark@Lexington-19:~$ gourmet
    Ignoring sqlalchemy problem
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/share/gourmet/gourmet/backends/db.py", line 224, in save
    self.db.commit()
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/sqlalchemy/engine/threadlocal.py", line 78, in commit
    trans = self._connections.trans.pop(-1)
    IndexError: pop from empty list
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_in_Hollywood View Post
    Is that a trick question?
    I was wondering whether its only this program that you are experiencing this problem with or with all programs.

    Gedit has icons for file & printing operations, but no ribbon bar menu.

    Google's Picass 3 - has File - Edit - View - Folder as a selectable menu.

    LibreOffice has a ribbon menu.
    Looks like its affecting other programs.

    Exactly how did you "switch[ed] from Gnome to XFCE"? Did you install the xubuntu-desktop package or some other method?

    What version of *buntu are you running?

    It looks to me like the unity globalmenu (the one that displays the menu bars of the different applications on one main menu bar at the top of the screen - ala OSX), is still running/installed and affecting your programs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Toz View Post
    I was wondering whether its only this program that you are experiencing this problem with or with all programs.


    Looks like its affecting other programs.

    Exactly how did you "switch[ed] from Gnome to XFCE"? Did you install the xubuntu-desktop package or some other method?

    What version of *buntu are you running?

    It looks to me like the unity globalmenu (the one that displays the menu bars of the different applications on one main menu bar at the top of the screen - ala OSX), is still running/installed and affecting your programs.

    From:

    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/xubuntu

    Adding Xubuntu to an existing Ubuntu/Kubuntu
    Paste in this command in the terminal:

    sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude install xubuntu-desktop

    To use Xfce after you've installed it:

    Log out.
    Under Session, select Xfce.
    Log back in again.

    This install is:

    Ubuntu 11.04 - the Natty Narwhal

    32-bit - pretty much a stock install.

    This is all I have done with Xfce. No mods, nothing else. Even Banshee has no ribbon bar menu in Xfce. How does that work?
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,145
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Missing Ribbon Bar for Menu

    That particular guide is old, written long before Unity was even a dream. Here's the guide you probably want:

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/10481...plication-menu
    Help yourself: Ubuntu Docs - Ubuntu Packages

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •