Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    188
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    I'm aware. I wasn't being completely serious. I was just looking for a reason to bump the thread hoping for someone who could help me. This is VERY frustrating. I hate Thunar...
    "Any program is only as good as it is useful." Linus Torvalds

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    188
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Also, here are the additional programs that would be removed along with Thunar:

    Code:
    USER@COMPUTER:~$ sudo apt-get remove thunar
    [sudo] password for USER: 
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following packages will be REMOVED:
      thunar thunar-archive-plugin thunar-media-tags-plugin thunar-volman
      xubuntu-desktop
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 5 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    After this operation, 2,666 kB disk space will be freed.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]?
    I'm cool with everything but "xubuntu-desktop" obviously. LAME!
    "Any program is only as good as it is useful." Linus Torvalds

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    188
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    BUMP! It's been 4 days. I really need help still if someone is able. Thank you!
    "Any program is only as good as it is useful." Linus Torvalds

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    188
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Bump!!!
    "Any program is only as good as it is useful." Linus Torvalds

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    188
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Abandoned by OP. NOT SOLVED! Good luck to those who come across this in search of an answer for a similar situation.

    Long story short? Stay away from Thunar at all costs.
    "Any program is only as good as it is useful." Linus Torvalds

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    370

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    xubuntu-desktop is just a metapackage; it shouldn't hurt anything to uninstall it. You may need to install it before performing an upgrade, though.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Hello, I have been playing with a lot of distributions and have found im very fond of xfce and Xubuntu.
    Honestly I've had no issues with thunar until I realised that it has no network places (I have no idea how I made it this far and failed to notice that thunar doesnt have network places)......now onto the interesting part...


    I am working in VirtualBox with a fresh install of xubuntu for this very purpose also updated. I tried removing thunar and adding nautilus with not so great results unless I make a custom launcher with the command "nautilus --no-desktop". I then reverted to the snapshot I had taken of a fresh & up-to-date install. I then left thunar alone and installed nautilus and started playing arround, it seems that thunar can use part of nautilus to get to network places. To get it to do this (tested twice to verify before writing this)...... leave thunar alone and install nautilus (using the one in package manager called just "nautilus" Version 1:3.2.1-0Ubuntu1. When thats done go to preferred applications and change it to nautilus, log out and back in then change it back to thunar and logout/in once more ... you will then notice that when you open a folder is uses thunar but has a network button in the side panel.

    ps. I still have much to learn and I do not know why this works but I assume it has something to do with the other packages that get installed with nautilus, maybe there is way to just install the one that adds the network feature.

    Also, what else do you not like about thunar? Maybe there is more I wont like but have not come across yet.

    Cheers
    Signed Bezgo

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5,339

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    "Network" in Thunar depends on a package - gvfs-backends - which for most people doesn't install by default for reasons unknown.

    The reason adding nautilus fixed it in thunar is that nautilus also has gfvs-backends as a dependency but this time it installed.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Thankyou Morbius1, after installing that package GVFS-Backends I simply logged out/in and thunar now has network capabilities. No need to install nautilus.

    EDIT-
    I would like to report this so that newcomers do not have this as an issue but I'm unaware if it needs to be a suggestion or a bug report, do I go to Thunar, Xubuntu, or both?
    Last edited by Bezgo; October 31st, 2011 at 09:16 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Beans
    5,339

    Re: Replacing Thunar with Nautilus not sticking?

    Fresh install of Xubuntu 11.10 misses gvfs-backends package: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/on...ta/+bug/878682

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •