Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    Compiz uses 33.9MiB on my Intel based netbook. and 144MiB on my Nvidia based desktop system.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Beans
    435
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    Thanks, so it looks like it only affects nvidia users.
    I wonder if the compiz dev(s) know that their nvidia backend leaks quite a lot.
    OTOH If compiz doesn't use custom code for nvidia hw, then this might be a leak in the nvidia proprietary driver.
    Now it's too late here, I'll do a clean install of Oneiric tomorrow and use it with Nouveau for like an hour and see what happens.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,195
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    It's just surreal. I tested this on my nvidia based system. It started out at 76MB. As I run and exited other programs like gedit, disk-usage analyzer, terminal, snapshot ff etc.. I noticed the memory climbing up. As I exited these programs it appeared that the compiz buffer would not clear with the nvidia card.

    It kept climbing...to here_
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ventrical; September 29th, 2011 at 11:34 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,195
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    slowly climbing , climbing , climbing... appears that compiz is not clearing it's stack (or nvidia driver) is stuffing the buffer.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,195
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    ..here..
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Beta Testing in Canada
    Beans
    5,195
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    Not so fast ...

    Conversely, if we drop down to the 3.0.0-11 kernel (with same bells and whistles) then the buffer is managed much more efficiently.. hence this would force us to reasonably conclude that there is a problem with the last kernel update to -12

    Also compiz is not polling every 2 seconds in the -11 kernel like it is in the -12 kernel.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ventrical; September 30th, 2011 at 12:06 AM. Reason: addon

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Beans
    850
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Compiz using 200+MB of RAM, is it right?

    keep an eye on Xorg's memory too; both compiz and Xorg slowly grow in ram usage for me, and they almost double each time I suspend/resume.
    "Microsoft Windows: A collection of 32bit extensions and a graphical shell for a 16bit patch to an 8bit O.S. originally coded for a 4bit microprocessor written by a 2bit company who cant stand 1 bit of competition." Jargon File 4.4.7

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •