View Poll Results: Did it work for you?

Voters
1200. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    808 67.33%
  • No

    392 32.67%
Page 59 of 100 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169 ... LastLast
Results 581 to 590 of 996

Thread: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

  1. #581
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Beautiful Orlando
    Beans
    356
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    I followed this to get my broadcom 4318 card to work in dapper (and it worked purrrfectly). Now that I've upgraded to edgy, I'm noticing some odd behaviors: sometimes, it works, well... But then out of the blue, it stops...
    And reboot as I may, it still doesn't work... Then after a while, everything works fine again... Is someone else noticing this?

    P.S: I did try (many times to no avail
    Code:
    sudo rmmod bcm43xx
    sudo modprobe bcm43xx
    The oldest n00b in the 1337 world...
    I'm all for thinner screens... but how will the tiny people from CRTs fit in them?
    My current desktop for 2009

  2. #582
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Beans
    234
    Distro
    Kubuntu Karmic Koala (testing)

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    So I take, that ubuntu's default driver work for you. That's strange, since the bcm4318 is not supported (at least not rev2). You get the exact typeof your chip by typing "lspci" in a console. At least on my HP nx6110 it would only work with ndiswrapper.

    You might also want to take a look at this thread and maybe try the script, though in my case I needed to install both ndiwrapper-utils1.1 and ndiwrapper-utils1.8. The script also produces a nice log-file.

    The steps performed by the script are explained here, if you prefer to do everything manually (it won't hurt for troubleshooting).

  3. #583
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    11

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    I'm having an interesting problem. I've got everything installed right (using ndiswrapper, the firmware thing didn't work). It's detecting my card, the 4311, and it's even getting an IP address from the router, but it's not getting on the internet. I have done this on multiple different AP's too, but still no internet. I do have to type my ESSID in, it's not scanning in network config, or network manager, but it is in wifi-radar.

  4. #584
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    106
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    AHHHHHH!!! WTH!?!? I have done this exact procedure like 8 times after I proceded to kill ubuntu each time. I was doing it this time and it doesn't work?!!!?!??!? Now it says that my driver is old?
    wtf?! it never was before! in fact i have installed it earlier today before i killed linux again and it worked! WTF! sigh...ill instll ubuntu again......but it takes like 30 minutes!!!!!!! GGRRRRRRRRR.
    Athlon64 x2 5000+ | 3.0 GB RAM | 400GB HD | NVidia GeForce 7300 LE

  5. #585
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    112

    Exclamation Broadcom BCM4318 version 2 up done in 30 seconds :D

    Hi
    I just installed Edgy EFT and I have an HP Compaq NX6110 which has the BroadCom BCM4318 Version2 Chipset.

    It's working fine and it was very quick and easy to install, no NDISWrapper needed but you do need to have had it working in Dapper natively.

    So you need to backup some things from Dapper before you install Edgy.

    Edgy has a file for broadcom chipsets ending in .Ko this is the operating systems side of the Driver, this will not work because it needs the cards firmware (from the manufacturer to talk to)

    basically the driver is in two halves one half provided by the os is the .ko file the other half is provided by the wireless card manufacturer in
    Dapper you used BcmCutter to cut the windows driver into bits

    well Edgy needs those bits.
    /lib/firmware/ has the bits you need inside that folder is bits of wireless driver and a number of folders (your linux kernel and supporting files live in them) ignore the folders just get those individual files out of there on your dapper install and put them somewhere safe.
    install edgy and then put those files back into edgys /lib/firmware/
    and reboot.

    heres an easy way
    open two terminals and
    sudo nautilus
    in each of them

    that will bring up two file browser windows with root access
    navigate to your saved firmware folder and to your edgy firmware folder
    copy the files from savedfolder to edgy lib/firmware/ folder

    ok reboot
    now open a terminal window
    type
    $iwconfig
    you should get

    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:"Myrouter" Nickname:"Broadcom 4318"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:11:50:45:85:35
    Bit Rate=11 Mb/s Tx-Power=18 dBm
    RTS thr: off Fragment thr: off
    Link Quality=56/100 Signal level=-51 dBm Noise level=-72 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    sit0 no wireless extensions.

    good
    now lets get a lease

    $ sudo dhclient

    Password:
    There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.pid with pid 4848
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.4
    Copyright 2004-2006 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit ,,,

    Listening on LPF/eth0/ mac address
    Sending on LPF/eth0/ mac address
    Listening on LPF/eth1/ forum thinks
    Sending on LPF/eth1/ mac addresses are smileys
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPREQUEST on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67
    DHCPACK from 192.168.x.1
    bound to 192.168.x.2 -- renewal in 985072504 seconds.
    $

    bingo connected not done anything else except come on here and tell you how i did it.

    I created some files on my laptop they might be useful if you put them in your lib/firmware folder I think they are ok

    I use an open access point with mac address filtering you probably want more security than that.

    I don't know why but I find when changing access points it is difficult to associate with a new access point, however if i boot windows and get a lease then rebooting into ubuntu there is no problem at all. (I don't have any evidence other than this seems to work)
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #586
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    112

    Broadcom Wireless cards tweaking

    I've been playing with the data rates for the wireless card
    sudo iwconfig eth1 rate 24M auto
    works for me with no losses
    sudo iwconfig eth1 rate 54M auto
    and there are lots of losses

    sudo iwconfig eth1 rate 48M auto

    seemed ok but the internet seemed slow
    there are a number of parameters you can try with iwconfig
    but it looks like 18DBm is the maximum you can set the txpower
    (you can lower it)

    anyone able to do iwconfig on dapper and see what things are set to?

  7. #587
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards without Ndiswrapper for Dapper and Edgy

    Worked for me on my Compaq V2000Z AMD64 Turion with Broadcom 4318 using additional instructions at

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php...4&postcount=43

    Thanks!

  8. #588
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Beans
    2
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Looks like a good howto. Unfortunately this is not so much help for me though.... my cheapy conexant wireless card doesn't show in Ubuntu I guess it's down to the computer shop for me.

  9. #589
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    8

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by benbruscella View Post
    With Edgy, my wireless connection seems to go down after a while.

    Then, when I try to reboot, I get:

    bcm43xx: Controller RESET (Tx Timeout)

    And this means I cannot shutdown/reboot without a power down.

    Anyone else seeing this?


    Code:
    benb@zigzag:~$ sudo iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth1      Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:11:24:0A:34:F5
                        ESSID:"home"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:3
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Quality=100/100  Signal level=-71 dBm  
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP 
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP 
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK  
                        Extra: Last beacon: 348ms ago
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:14:6C:D0:27:38
                        ESSID:"MAGGIE"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:11
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Quality=100/100  Signal level=-30 dBm  
                        Extra: Last beacon: 4ms ago
    
    sit0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    Code:
    benb@zigzag:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    Also seeing this issue on a dapper to edgy upgrade. Never a problem on dapper. I think edgy was ok for a few days after upgrading and then the past two days I have started seeing this. I've run all the updates since upgrade and maybe somehow they have made this issue?

  10. #590
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    8

    Re: How to: Broadcom Wireless cards

    Quote Originally Posted by benbruscella View Post
    With Edgy, my wireless connection seems to go down after a while.

    Then, when I try to reboot, I get:

    bcm43xx: Controller RESET (Tx Timeout)

    And this means I cannot shutdown/reboot without a power down.

    Anyone else seeing this?


    Code:
    benb@zigzag:~$ sudo iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth1      Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:11:24:0A:34:F5
                        ESSID:"home"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:3
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Quality=100/100  Signal level=-71 dBm  
                        IE: WPA Version 1
                            Group Cipher : TKIP 
                            Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP 
                            Authentication Suites (1) : PSK  
                        Extra: Last beacon: 348ms ago
              Cell 02 - Address: 00:14:6C:D0:27:38
                        ESSID:"MAGGIE"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11bg
                        Mode:Master
                        Channel:11
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                                  48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                        Quality=100/100  Signal level=-30 dBm  
                        Extra: Last beacon: 4ms ago
    
    sit0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    Code:
    benb@zigzag:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    Believe I just fixed this issue by re-extracting the firmware to both the /lib/firmware directory and the /lib/firmware/2.6.17-10-386
    directory. Logs so far have not shown this error again.

    Edit: It died again.
    Last edited by eems01; November 5th, 2006 at 02:52 PM. Reason: Eventually fails again:

Page 59 of 100 FirstFirst ... 949575859606169 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •