Thread: How do I install OSX Snow Leopard (bought CD) in VirtualBox 4.1.2

Beans

Question How do I install OSX Snow Leopard (bought CD) in VirtualBox 4.1.2

My Background:

Sadly, I am only moderately computer literate, and less than that with Ubuntu. I am fairly new to Ubuntu. I have mastered the GUI well, but only a beginner at Terminal Window. I am also a beginner to OSX.

What I do know some more about is Windows and also VirtualBox, but I'm fed up with Windows and trying to learned more about Ubuntu, VirtualBox, and now also OSX. I do have several version of Windows installed in VirtualBox. So I have some experience with VBox there.

Here are my problems and goals:

I have Ubuntu 64-bit V11.04 on a Dell with 1 Intel processor, 4 cores.

I have VirtualBox 4.1.2 installed.

I want to install OSX Snow Leopard as a guest operating system in VirtualBox.

I do NOT want to install the Hackintosh by Hazard version of OSX.

I want to install my OSX Snow Leopard CD that I purchased.
    I have tried the instructions I found at http://www.sysprobs.com/install-mac-...apple-intel-pc
    It got Empire boot loader loaded. I wasn't sure if I should use the Intel or AMD version for my 64 bit Intel. So I tried both versions of Empire boot loader. Both successfully started boot loader, but then failed to do anything after I put in the OSX CD and pressed F5.
    The AMD version of Empire did nothing after putting OSX CD.

The Intel version of Empire gave lots of EBIOS error messages on-screen in Empire boot loader program. Then installation stops.
    I also tried the instructions given by Geeknizer, but those failed as well. I don't remember the details now, but I do remember that those instructions were for PC host computer, not Ubuntu host.

Summary:

Can anyone please give me some step-by-step instructions?
    For how to install my Snow Leopard CD as a Guest OS in VirtualBox 4.1.2. My host OS is Ubuntu 64-bit V11.04.

Beans